Refurbished iMac shipped...with extras?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jkoger, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. jkoger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #1
    So, I just got the refurbished Aluminum 24" iMac I ordered last week. Fantastic! It's been a blast, and today I ventured to Best Buy to get an external hard drive to utilize the Time Machine feature.

    However, a few hours ago I was looking around the machine and noticed that my original HDD had nearly 490GB of free space on it and the new external HDD had nearly 290GB of free space. Fine and dandy, right? I figured the original HDD was just registering the external space and displaying that. Weird thing is, is that I ordered a 250GB iMac and not the 500GB version because of the added price.

    To test it, just to make sure, I disconnected my external drive and rechecked my free space on my home drive...still showing nearly 490GB of free space.

    So, did I just get lucky and does this kind of thing tend to happen with refurb units or is it still just showing me fake data?
     
  2. Machu macrumors newbie

    Machu

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    #2
    Sounds like you got a deal. What does Disk Util. say?
     
  3. Senor360 macrumors regular

    Senor360

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #3
    HD space..

    250gb? Do you mean 320? I didn't think the Alu iMacs came in anything less then that. Newb here, but correct me if I'm wrong. That's great thought that you got a 500gb drive. The refurb section does mention that they might come with other software sometimes, you just got an extra bonus. ;)
     
  4. jkoger thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #4
    Yes, sorry, it was a 320GB drive I had ordered, you're right. Not really sure where I was getting 250 from.
     
  5. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

    Dimwhit

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #5
    If it's showing 490 GB of free space, then I don't think it's even the 500GB drive, since that ships empty at about 460GB. Plus I assume you have a bunch of stuff on it. Sounds like you might have a 750GB drive.
     

Share This Page