Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Pennyroll

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 15, 2008
Hi all,
This is my first posting here (partly because I just bought my first Mac today). I got a refurbished iMac 20-inch 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo SuperDrive from the Apple store. I don't need anyone to tell me I should have gotten the newer brushed aluminum because at this point it will do no good and I will just cry, arrrggghhh :)...but I do have some actual questions.

-really worth buying the AppleCare protection program for it? I've used a Mac at work for years with no problems and I cringe a little at paying $170 bucks for coverage.

-do I need to upgrade the memory (currently 1GB; 250 serial ATA hard drive)? I'm a technology editor and do a lot of Flash/ Photoshop/ Illustrator-heavy work, and although MOST of it will not be on my home computer I do want the option.

-Is it worth shelling out the extra bucks for Mac Office 2008 instead of 2004? I want good, compatible stuff...but it sounds a little like I'm going to have to sell my kidneys on eBay to pay for all this by the end of it.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give and sorry I'm such a clueless lunatic about this! I have no good excuse.

Reflow

macrumors 68000
Mar 30, 2005
NJ/PHL
Hi all,
This is my first posting here (partly because I just bought my first Mac today). I got a refurbished iMac 20-inch 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo SuperDrive from the Apple store. I don't need anyone to tell me I should have gotten the newer brushed aluminum because at this point it will do no good and I will just cry, arrrggghhh :)...but I do have some actual questions.

-really worth buying the AppleCare protection program for it? I've used a Mac at work for years with no problems and I cringe a little at paying $170 bucks for coverage.