Refurbished Time Capsule - current model?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by jordanneo, Aug 14, 2016.

  1. jordanneo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm thinking about buying a Time Capsule. I've always kept backups on regular USB 3 external drives, but now that I have an iMac and my daughter has a MBP, the TC is an attractive option because we can both backup to it wirelessly and we can get an upgraded router at the same time.

    Couple of questions

    Is this refurbished TC the latest version? I've read about some issues with old ones and want to make sure I don't get saddled with one with problems.
    http://www.apple.com/ca/shop/produc...82398c52bf5086b788f8089e38281db3ff73e0903168f

    Also, does the router allow limiting of internet access by device at certain times of day?

    Any other pros/cons/experiences/advice on the TC in general are appreciated.

    Thanks!
     
  2. satinsilverem2 macrumors 6502a

    satinsilverem2

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #2
    Yes that is the latest model available. I use two refurbished Time Capsules and haven't had a single issue with either of them. Yes under Airport Utility you can control usage time limits per IP address.
     
  3. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #3
    @jordanneo That is the current model, and the refurbished models are the best deal around. I purchased 13 refurbished AirPorts for clients and they all have worked great without any issues at all. The Time Capsule is a great device and does everything it is supposed to well, and my only complaint would be the three LAN ports instead of four. You can enforce Time Limits in AirPort Utility provided the Time Capsule is set as the router (in DHCP & NAT mode).
     
  4. jordanneo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    #4
    Awesome. Thanks! My Time Capsule should be here Wednesday.
     
  5. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #5
    You made a great choice! Report back if you have any questions setting it up.
     
  6. jordanneo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    #6
    Got really excited when it got delivered today. Set it all up and had errors on the drive. Not a good start so I sent it back and a new one arrives Thursday.

    And now my ethernet connection to my router won't work. Says "ethernet has a self assigned IP address and will not be able to connect to the internet". I guess I'll figure that out when the new TC arrives.

    Fun times!

    J
     
  7. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #7
    The router likely was put into bridge mode when you were configuring it all.
     
  8. jordanneo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    #8
    Thanks. I switched back to my DD-WRT equipped router until I get the new TC. It's in Gateway mode. I'm not overly concerned about it at this point. I'll work on making sure everything's in order when I get the new TC.
     
  9. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #9
    When the new Time Capsule comes, feel free to post on here if you have any questions getting it all set up.
     

Share This Page