Register iPhone 4

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by netnothing, Oct 15, 2011.

  1. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #1
    I can't for the life of me remember........my parents just got two new iPhone 4 from AT&T.

    Do they have to register the phone? And if so....where?

    I got my iPhone 4 last year and can't remember doing anything.

    -Kevin
     
  2. BFG86 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #2
    When I plugged mine into the computer and opened up iTunes it asked me if I wanted to register it.
     
  3. netnothing thread starter macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #3
    Yeah, I thought it used to do that.....but with the iOS5 setup......most is done through the phone. After that when we plugged them into iTunes....it just asked to give the iPhone a name. Never got all the register screens.

    -KEvin
     
  4. BFG86 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #4
    Yeah I set mine up in the store but when it came to ask me for my apple id I was unable to login with it so we skipped that part, must be why I was prompted for registration on the computer
     
  5. netnothing thread starter macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #5
    Possibly. Thanks for the info.

    -Kevin
     
  6. netnothing thread starter macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #6
    So still not sure how Apple knows you are setting up a new device if iOS5 now never asks you to register. Does it just assume that the first Apple ID to ever hit their servers with that phone is the owner? And that starts the 1 year Applecare? Remember these phones were purchased through AT&T not through Apple.


    -Kevin
     

Share This Page