Registering my American (Verizon) iphone 4 in Canada

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by jhussman, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. jhussman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    I am just wondering if anyone knows how to register my American (Verizon) iphone 4 in Canada. I know that to register it, it needs to do so on Verizon cellphone towers, but I am in Toronto and am only in proximity of Canadian carrier towers. Is there anyway to make my phone think it is connected to Verizon towers or simply to register it from Canada? Thankks a lot
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  3. jhussman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
  4. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #4
    Eh I'm pretty sure Bell still has CDMA2000 running in addition to their new HSPA+ Network....
     
  5. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #5
    I live in Canada and I am almost positive that no carrier here will register a CDMA iPhone.
     
  6. xlii macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #6
    Verizon in the US offers a plan for both the US and Canada. That might be something to consider. I don't know if you are now living in Canada or just there for a few months. Up in Canada it is Rogers that is the carrier. I was just up there near Toronto visiting relatives living in Mississauga.

    Maybe sell your current iPhone 4 and get an iPhone 5 in September from Rogers.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    That's what I thought too.
    Even though they have it for old subscribers they are phasing it out and won't activate a Verizon iPhone on it.
     
  8. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #8
    Exactly. CDMA exists on a small scale here with Bell and Telus, only for the older phones but all smartphones are GSM here, except for Koodo, I believe. But they're going out of business so. :p

    To be completely honest, I don't think that any carrier would even be capable of activating the Verizon iPhone 4 here even if it were unlocked/unlockable, I don't believe that the systems are capable of activating an iPhone that isn't GSM.
     
  9. jhussman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #9
    It's actually my dad's business phone and I live in Toronto. I have an iphone 4 on Rogers, but thanks for the help. Really appreciate it. Turns out my girlfriend was driving up to Niagara on the Lake and took the phone with her. She was able to connect to a Verizon tower so it is now activated.
     
  10. jhussman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #10
    Also, I don't think the iPhone 5 is going to come out until atleast Q4.
     

Share This Page