Regular sim cut to micro SIM. Has anyone tested it yet?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacks' started by mymacrumorse, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. mymacrumorse macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    #1
    I have read about the possibility of trimming the regular sim to make it more like Micro SIM and use it in iPad. Has anyone tried it already. Do it work?

    I would like to know its outcome. I havent received my iPad 3G yet and my curiosity kills me.

    Any info would be appreciated.

    Here is a tool to the SIM cutter by 9to5Mac

    http://www.9to5mac.com/micro-som-iphone-iPad-conversion-365465756
     
  2. PapZ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #2
    Since I'm gonna have my US relatives to take two iPads 3G and bring them overseas in Italy, where I live, I have the utmost interest in knowing if other carrier's microSIM (both natural or cut up) work in US sold iPads.
    Do you plan to try it out with your iPad when you'll get it? It would be awesome, since I don't want to waste my money on two useless iPads 3G :)
     
  3. Totty macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    #3
    The iPad 3g has been confirmed to be unlocked, so it should work just fine with other carrier's microSIMs.
     
  4. PapZ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #4
    I have solid evidence confirming what you say, but a couple of phone calls made by my american cousin to Apple's customer service made out things differently: they said to him that US sold iPads 3G are locked to AT&T. It's cr*ap, if you ask me; nonetheless, it's straight from horse's mouth...
     
  5. Bodhi395 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #5
    I was going to post the same thread, specifically I want to know if the iPhone sim card will work in the iPad.

    So who's going to be the brave soul that cuts up their iPhone's sim card and tries it in the iPad??
     
  6. HXGuy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #6
    You dont even have to cut up your iPhone SIM...just go to the any store or gas station and pick up a Pre-paid phone through ATT or TMobile, it's like $10.
     
  7. ReallyOldGuy macrumors regular

    ReallyOldGuy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #7
    i have to be missing something....you CAN CUT YOUR SIM CARD AND IT WORKS but you cant put it back in the phone..what purpose does it serve?
     
  8. phoobo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #8
    Yes you can

    You just have to put it into a little $3.00 plastic adapter. Look on the Net under micro-sim sim adapter.
     
  9. Hammie macrumors 65816

    Hammie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Wash, DC Metro
    #9
    There are micro-SIM to SIM adapters you can buy. They may be linked to on the 9-5 site.
     
  10. jsnuff1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #10
    or you can just get another sim card from ATT (you can do this just tell them you have two phones) you just cant use both at the same time.

    Im really interested in this as well, the only way I will get the 3G iPad is if i can use my iPhone sim in it...no way im paying more money on top of the data I already pay for.
     
  11. HelveticaNeue macrumors 6502a

    HelveticaNeue

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #11
    +1 for this question. Hopefully some brave soul will step up to answer our prayers. And am I being too hopeful that he/she be Canadian?
     
  12. Bodhi395 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #12
    But a pre-paid phone won't have a data plan on it, so it would be useless in an ipad. I guess it would tell you if you could physically fit a cut down sim card in the ipad, but I'm interested in not just will it fit(which I don't see why it wouldn't), but whether the iPad will recognize the iPhone sim card and let you download data with it.
     
  13. bzz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    #13
    Is this true?

    If yes it is very bad cos a friend is bringing one from us :confused:
     
  14. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #14
    Steve himself said in the keynote that they were not carrier-locked.
     
  15. PapZ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #15
    Well, I have a source that pretty much seals the deal: believe it or not (I didn't, at first) I got an answer straight from Steve Jobs himself (I can send the original email to whomever wants to check out if it's legit):

    [​IMG]
     
  16. marklu98 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
  17. uglymoment macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #17
    Amaizing man :) congratulations..

    One question...if any one can answer...

    If i have 3g connection in my ipad....and if i go to some areas where there is no 3G...but there is "edge"...so it will swtich from 3g to edge automatically...and the back again to 3g automatically... like it works in iphone.... it is same rite?


    --
     

Share This Page