Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Original poster
Feb 19, 2005
I was having problems with my 1 year old powerbook. In the last three months whenever I unplugged my powerbook from the wall it would go to sleep. I did the usual hardware tests and all that stuff and nothing came up. I even took it to Apple and they said to send it in. The problem is that I am a full time student with a full time job so I sort of need this computer. This problem only happens while plugged into an external display. (dell 2005FPW)
It started about 8-10 weeks after I bought the dell LCD. It never did it with my NEC 21" CRT..and it didn't happen with the LCD for the first couple of months.

I decided to clone my hard drive onto an external which copied my home folder. I did a fresh install of Tiger and then tried to copy my home folder back where it said I needed to be logged in as root. I figured out how to do that, logged in as root, copied my home folder to my drive and logged out. Logged in as a regular user I found that I could not access anything as it said I didn't have permission. I am annoyed beyond belief and I am in need of help. I don't know what to do to get my home folder back to me where I can use it and get off this root account (because it's generally unsafe). However, I can't do anything on the other account...even Safari won't work.

PS If anyone knows why I am also having that dang power issue then I'd be happy to hear some suggestions.
I have already done the battery reboot and reset the ram etc etc.

kettle

macrumors 65816
On the fresh install of tiger you probably should have used Migration assistant to copy the user information from your cloned external. Rather than dragging.