Reinstall OS X 10.3.2 or buy new disk?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by treegirl, Apr 7, 2008.

1. treegirl macrumors newbie

Hello everybody,

I am crying out for advice because I am a complete newbie to Mac, and I was just given a G5 computer. I would like to reinstall OS X and start fresh. The version I have is 10.3.2, and after reading a bunch of posts on this site I am wondering if I should bother with these discs or just buy an upgraded version. One post said you need a mac account. I do not know what that means and if that affects me. There is nothing on this computer that I need, and I cannot get it to stay online with my wireless for more than a couple minutes. I am hoping cleaning it up will help with this problem. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Thank you,
    Crissy

2. Manzana macrumors 6502a

Manzana

I would go ahead and buy Leopard and do a clean install and move on.

3. Sky Blue Guest

Sky Blue

This

4. nemex macrumors regular

nemex

I would go this way too... :apple:

5. treegirl thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank you!

With everybody who responded agreeing, I will follow your advice. Thank you so much.

Peace,
    Crissy :)

6. sanford macrumors 65816

Crissy,

It's a .mac account. It's Apple sort of Web services plan -- e-mail, some light hosting, some off-site back-up, various things, tied in with their iLife suite of applications -- at about a $100 a year. You don't at all need it, with Leopard or any other version of Mac OS. You need it to do a few things, like use Apple's Backup software, but with Time Machine in Leopard, that is back-up software. Otherwise, save a very, very few trivial things, you can always use the sorts of things .mac provides with other services of your own choosing.

If you want to try it out, there's a 30 or 60 day -- can't remember which -- free trial, with a few limitations. But even then you're under no obligation to keep it. Most people with Macs don't subscribe to .mac