Reinstall OSX - Do I Need to Backup My Bootcamp Partition??

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by sixth, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. sixth macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #1
    Correct me if I am wrong but Boot Camp is its own partition. I want to reinstall OSX for a few reasons, but my main question is can I do that and leave my bootcamp partition in tact without reinstalling Windows? I dont see why I can't because its on its own partition and I am only installing OSX on its own partition. The machine should still see the windows partition once I reinstall....

    Correct?? Or does a reinstall of OSX delete the bootcamp as well?
     
  2. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #2
    Hi, you're 100 % correct, reinstalling Mac OS does not affect Windows partition. Even if you'll choose 'erase and install', you'll be given a choice which partition should be erased.

    sash
     
  3. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #3
    You are correct,when you start the OS X install it gives you the option of what drive/partition you want to install it
     
  4. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    No, but it may be worthwhile anyway in case something goes wrong, but you should be OK.
     
  5. sixth thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #5
    Thanks guys, I was pretty sure it wouldnt effect it but I wasn't sure if there were any 'hooks' or anything.

    I will make sure to back up the Windows partition just in case. :)

    Thanks guys!
     
  6. crm114 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Midwest
    #6
    dude - i would totally back that up. you never know. seriously.
     
  7. sixth thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #7
    yeah i am planning on it...my osx partition is just blowing up...need to blow it away and start fresh, to many installs and too much hacking around in terminal plus a failed install of logic pro....just starting fresh.
     
  8. MaLdocK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #8
    Noob question but what must i do to reinstall 10.5?
    i wanna do it once and do it good.
    Reinstall, partition for bootcamp then partition for applications
     
  9. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #9
    Just start up from the Leopard disc. Everything after that is pretty much self explanatory.

    To start up from the Leopard dics, just hold the 'C' key while you boot up.
     

Share This Page