Reinstall snow leopard.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dtechlogic, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. dtechlogic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #1
    Hey Guys,

    I am thinking of reinstalling my my snow leopard again. I have bootcamp install and will i gain access to bootcamp once i install snow leopard or will i have to reinstall also. The reason of wanting to do a clean install becuase i everytime i install plugins it goes to CS5.0 folder instead of CS5.5 folder. So i have to move them over. to CS5.5 folder. Is it better to reinstall it or just delete folders. I have a backup carbon copy of my hdd. There is software from my backup that i need.
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Its on a separate partition. Your Bootcamp partition should be fine.
     
  3. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #3
    This is a bug with the installers, not with the machine.

    You have to wait for your vendor to update the installers, or keep moving them over by hand.

    Which installers are you talking about?
     
  4. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #4
    Like Red Giant plugins and video copilot. It keeps adding them to my CS5.0 folder instead of CS5.5 after effects folder. It creates more work for me to go hunt them down and move them over.
     
  5. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #5
    I was an installer engineer with Red Giant up until about a year ago. I can assure you this is an installer issue, not a system issue.

    Because I'm not employed by them currently I can't really comment on the current status of this. Sorry. If I still worked for them I'd fix it for you. :)
     
  6. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #6
    It is okay. Right now i am managing to get them to work. Man it pays to be pc/now mac sabby. Anyways i guess i am not reinstalling everything anymore. It just to much work reinstalling softwares that i need. also have to redownload adobe CS5.5 again. I think i can manage to work and live with it.
     
  7. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #7
    Yeah. I would hate to see you reinstall OS X. Kind of painful. Hopefully the issue gets taken care of!

    It's annoying how Adobe moves the plugin folder every release.

    Edit: For what it's worth, I'd make sure you're using the latest installer from their website, but again, it's been a year since I've used the things.
     

Share This Page