Reinstalling Leopard and data migration

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by V0LTR0NN, Dec 15, 2008.

1. V0LTR0NN macrumors newbie

Hello,

I am troubleshooting an issue right now and may need to reinstall Leopard on my Mac Mini. I am new to Mac so please forgive my n00b questions.

• I have 1 USB drive and 1 FireWire drive attached. The USB drive is my Time Machine backup drive and all of my Data is on the FireWire drive.
    • I am not backing up ALL of my data with Time Machine due to lack of Hard Drive space, so its important to know that I will not get back all of my data by just doing a time machine restore...
    • I do have permissions set up on my FireWire drive that contains all of my data.
    • I do not want to transfer any of my settings over after I reinstall OS X however I do want to ensure that I do not lose any data.
    1. What is the best way to go about reinstalling Leopard and ensure I do not lose my data due to wacky permissions issues?
    2. If I just unplug my FireWire (Data) drive and re-install Leopard, then after the reinstall hook the FireWire drive back up will I run into any permission problems?

Thanks for any help you can give :)

2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

Just pop in the Leopard DVD and choose "archive and install" when prompted. I believe there is an option immediately underneath to preserve user and network settings, which you should also select. That's all you should need to do. It'll handle the backup on its own, and you won't need to use your Time Machine drive. Neat, eh?

3. V0LTR0NN thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the responce. I do NOT want to save my user settings as my user settings may be causing my issue. If I DO NOT select that option will this still preserve all of my data on the external drive?