Reinstalling Lion Query.

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by snerkler, Feb 26, 2012.

  1. snerkler macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #1
  2. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #2
    Before you go taking part your brand new Mac, I would recommend running for a few days to make sure the computer is working fine.

    Without watching the linked video, there are 2 ways to do this, one is install ty he new disk (SSD in your case) and do an Internet Recovery.

    The other way would be for you to download Lion from the Mac App Store and burn it out to DVD. And then swap your disks. There are links to how to do this in this forum. This method would let you download Lion while you're using the MBP.

    And either method would create the Recovery Partition. And if you want extra protection you could create a Lion Recovery Disk using the Recovery Disk Assistant mentioned on the Internet Recovery page.
     
  3. snerkler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #3
    Yeah, I will be trying the Mac out first before buying the SSD as want to make sure I'm happy with the hi-res screen as much as anything. Struggled a little instore with the font size, but have seen ways to tweak this so hoping I'll be Ok. If I download the lion software from the app store won't I have to pay for this?

    That YouTube link shows how to make a lion recover recovery on a USB drive using the lion recovery disc utility from the apple site. Is there any difference installing from a recovery disc and installing from an installation disc/app?
     
  4. Dweez macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
    #4
    If it were me (which it obviously isn't) I'd use something like Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper! and create a bootable clone of the drive which came with the MBP. Why do you think a fresh O/S install is needed?
     
  5. snerkler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #5
    I don't have any basis for this, but have always felt that doing a fresh install is less prone to problems.
     
  6. Dweez macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
    #6
    If the machine is new, it will be a fresh install.
     
  7. snerkler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #7
    Yes but the whole point of the thread is that I will be swapping out the hard drive and the new one obviously won't have any OS on it. I then want to put a fresh install on the new drive. I've always thought a fresh install on a new drive is better than a cloned one.
     
  8. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #8
    It all depends on what you've done with your system. A Mac that is only a week old won't have had time to build up junk on the disk. Now if it was a year or 2 down the road and you've done a lot of patches to the OS and upgraded applications and deleted applications, then a fresh install would be cleaner (but not necessarily neccessary with OS X).

    Of course if you don't want the iLife applications on your computer, then a fresh install might be better then trying to remove all the pieces of the iLife applications.
     
  9. Dweez macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
    #9
    When I installed my SSD I used SuperDuper! to clone the drive in an external USB/SATA enclosure, swapped in the new part and carried on.

    There's not really a downside to a cloned copy. However a fresh install is always a good option.

    $0.02 worth.
     
  10. snerkler, Feb 26, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2012

    snerkler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #10
    Isn't iLife part of OS Lion and therefore be on the fresh install?

    Edit: Just been on the Apple site and if you've got a Mac with factory installed OS X Lion the iLife apps will appear as purchases on the Mac store and you can download them again for free :)

    I think I'll do the fresh install, but I'll also create a clone to use just in case.
     

Share This Page