Reinstalling OS X

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by chattahoochee, Dec 24, 2013.

1. chattahoochee macrumors 6502

Is it a good idea to reinstall the OS on a MacBook on a regular basis ? I remember windows making this suggestion. On my MacBook I was having problems, I ran the "Verify & Repair" without success. Apple Help had me reinstall the OS and now the unit is working fine.

2. old-wiz macrumors G3

You don't need to re-install OSx on a regular basis. I have been using Macs since 2005, now have or have gone through 8 macs and only once have I had to re-install osx and that was due to a bad software update.

OSx doesn't get cluttered the way Windows does.

Sometimes you can have a problem and need to re-install, but that is atypical.

3. trevm999 macrumors member

And sometimes your hard drive will be failing and Apple guides you through a reinstall and it will work again...for a while. Usually until you are out of AppleCare.

4. jchase2057 macrumors regular

As a person who works in IT and deals with this stuff every day. I think yearly OS installs are the way to go. I usually do them anytime a new OS comes out. With the way apple does OS releases now, this works out well.

5. old-wiz macrumors G3

With osx you do not need to reinstall on a calendar basis.

When new releases come out, an update install usually works just fine.

6. jchase2057 macrumors regular

I know that you don't need to. There is a difference between best practice and necessity.

7. DeltaMac macrumors 604

DeltaMac

Very true!
    A "best practice" reinstall of OS X is determined by need, not by the calendar.
    The need is: You are having actual problems, and your troubleshooting has determined that a reinstall is needed.
    A reinstall is a last resort, not determined by a calendar date, but by intended results.

8. jchase2057 macrumors regular