Reinstalling Snow Lepoard, will it archive what was already on the disk?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by iMiiTH, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. iMiiTH macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #1
    I installed windows xp on bootcamp and it completely screwed up my os x partition. Everything's still there, but when I boot up it's an endless loop of blue screens ... So I'm just going to reinstall.

    I had to boot from, the disk.. And there aren't any options to archive documents, like there was when I upgraded my pc to windows 7 I did a clean install but there was a folder called windows.old.

    Some other threads said that it does automatically and other says it doesn't. I just need clarification.

    Thanks!
     
  2. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    One thing you could do is just do a reinstall without doing anything such as Archive or Formatting, this should fix any corrupted files. It worked for me when mine got corrupted due to some non-compatible drivers.
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    Mac OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard) and its installation process don't offer any Archive and Install option like previous Mac OS X versions. Snow Leopard's normal installation procedure, meaning not deviating from the standard and doing an Erase and Install for instance, will restore the broken Mac OS X system and leave all your files and settings intact.
     
  4. iMiiTH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #4
    So all files and documents will stay in their original folders? My MacBook's right in front of me, cursor over the install button :p
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    With Mac OS X 10.6 it will do just that. I once did a re-installation that way, and everything was the same* after the installation finished.

    * files and folders where still there, even my Desktop background was the same.
     
  6. iMiiTH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #6
    Did you insert the disk while logged in? Or did you boot from it? Would it matter?
     
  7. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #7
    Both can be done. I think I inserted it while the Mac was booted up, but I don't remember it exactly.
     
  8. iMiiTH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #8
    Well, I just finished installing, and it worked! Thanks a bunch :D
     

Share This Page