Reliable home router suggestion?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Iphone4sinwhite, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. Iphone4sinwhite macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    #1
    What is a good suggested feature set and/or a good router for at home use? At my home are a few computers, phones, tablets, and rokus.

    My current router has problems maintaining stable wifi at home over both 2GHZ & 5GHZ radios and has a habit of giving out the same IP address to multiple devices. I want to avoid these problems.
     
  2. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    Apple AirPort Extreme, Netgear WNDR-3700 and up or ASUS top of the line are all very good choices.

    I wouldn't touch, D-link, Belkin or Linksys.

    What router are you using now?
     
  3. maxosx macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Location:
    Southern California
    #3
    Just buy an Airport Extreme, they're great. Mines been flawless.

    Plus your supporting them by pumping more money into Apples war chest, and assisting in the funding of lawsuits.

    Apple will be thrilled :)
     
  4. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    Extreme or TC as the router with Express units as extensions to fill out the wifi coverage and, add remote ethernet ports or remote audio via Airplay.
     
  5. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #5
    If you have an Apple environment, get an Apple Router - Express, Extreme or TC, unless you have some special requirements.
    If you have a mixed environment, look at the above plus get an idea of what these people recommend : http://www.smallnetbuilder.com.
    Look at their forums also : http://forums.smallnetbuilder.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5.

    Otherwise, what blueroom said is pretty much true. I had a top of the line Asus to replace my Linksys that replaced my USRobotics. Then I ditched it and switched to Apple. Never better.
     
  6. Iphone4sinwhite thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    #6
    My current problem router is a Netgear. Can the airport express handle about 15 devices in a 2500 sq. ft. 2 story house with basement?
     
  7. KylePowers macrumors 68000

    KylePowers

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    #7
    Just throwin' this out there, you can snag an AirPort Extreme (refurb) at Best Buy today for $89.99 - Regular price = $179.99.

    EDIT - A refurb from Apple is $139.99
    EDIT x2 - Just make sure if you get it that it's actually a 5th gen. There're mixed reports
     
  8. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #8
    I have 30 devices on my network. Only 5 are wireless but they are a mix of 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz. I have a 4 story house with a long ground floor (think vertical L). Ground floor is ~1000 sq ft. To cover all this I have 2 Express units and 1 Extreme in a roaming network. If I just used one unit it would probably do the job, but the 5Ghz data rates wouldn't be that great.
     
  9. hasenpfeffer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    #9
    The bestbuy page indicates Model RF-MD031LL/A, which indicates a 5th gen. If that's not the model you get, then keep your records so you can return it.
     
  10. cheisA1A macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Location:
    Midwest
    #10
    I just saw the refurbished Extreme at Best Buy and came here to see if there is a huge difference between the Extreme and AirPort Express performance-wise. I wasn't looking to spend $180 on a new one and was conflicted by the mixed reviews on the refurb. I would more than likely buy the new Express or refurbished Extreme from Apple.
    I only have a few things that would be connected to wifi so what would be my best bet?
    Thanks
     
  11. JD92 macrumors 6502a

    JD92

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    #11
    Why not D-Link? I've had only good experiences with D-Link, whereas my Netgears have never been that good.

    Switched everything over to an Airport Extreme/Time Capsule mix now though. Very happy with it.
     
  12. DP812, Jan 29, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2013

    DP812 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    Japan
    #12
    If they were flawless, my iPhone and PS3 would connect, which they randomly decided to stop doing.

    EDIT: Can't seem to delete this response. Solved the problem I was having and posted this when I was frustrated.
     
  13. Iphone4sinwhite thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    #13
    I purchased an airport express last night. I wasn't able to set it up with my 4S, but I setup with my MBP was quick and intuitive. All of the devices thus far have been able to connect without issue. I hope it stays this way.
     
  14. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #14
    iPhone4s only connects on 2.4Ghz. It might be that your MBP is on 5Ghz so you will need to mess with some of the AE's settings.
     
  15. jterp7 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #15
    buy both at best buy, run your own tests and return the one that's not as good. They have pretty easy returns vs official apple, so I'd do this way if you can't decide.
     
  16. JD92, Jan 30, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2013
  17. Iphone4sinwhite thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    #17
    My iPhone now has an airplay button appear (I'm assuming that's what it is). Can I only play music from my phone on speakers directly attached to the Airport Express through usb or the audio jack?
     
  18. btbrossard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #18
    I never knew that - but I did end up hard wiring my xbox after I noticed the connection speed wasn't that great.

    Is there any fix for that or is the fix just not to use wifi?

    Other than the xbox, my Airport Extreme has been pretty reliable.
     

Share This Page