Resolved Remap Force Quit

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by mainstay, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. mainstay, Jan 8, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2012

    mainstay macrumors 6502

    mainstay

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Location:
    BC
    #1
    i have a non-standard keyboard that is impossible to do command-option-escape.

    I don't want to change the modifier keys... but I do want to remap which keyboard shortcut is used for force quit.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    You could simply hold the Option/Alt key down while you right-click a Dock icon to get to the Force Quit.
     
  3. mainstay thread starter macrumors 6502

    mainstay

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Location:
    BC
    #3
    I am usually stuck in a full screen video app and cannot get to the dock...
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    You can map a different shortcut by going to:
    System Preferences > Keyboard > Keyboard Shortcuts and clicking the + to add a new shortcut.
     
  5. mainstay thread starter macrumors 6502

    mainstay

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Location:
    BC
    #5
    I only see this being available in Lion for Applications...

    And I do not see force quit in the list of services et al.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    You can't do this?
    ScreenCap 1.PNG
     
  7. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    White Mntns, Arizona
    #7
    I just tried doing this, albeit in Snow Leopard, not Lion and the new keyboard shortcut does not work. Does it work for you? What alternate key combo did you put in?
     
  8. GGJstudios, Jan 8, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2012

    GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    It does work, but you have to select a keyboard combo that isn't already in use. For example, I used Control-Option-Shift-9 and it worked fine. Also, be aware that the Menu Title: must be exact. If you use Force Quit it won't work. You must use Force Quit... exactly as shown in the screenshot I posted. To find the proper Menu Title for any keyboard command, look at the menu item on whatever toolbar you're using.
    ScreenCap 3.PNG
     
  9. mainstay thread starter macrumors 6502

    mainstay

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Location:
    BC
    #9
    wow - wicked - I had no idea you could just use the text of a menu item... (although now re-reading the text in that window it does actually say it, I just didn't understand that it was that flexible).

    I used "command - /"

    and it worked just fine (after closing the keyboard modifiers window was when it seemed to "apply").

    Thank you!
     
  10. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    White Mntns, Arizona
    #10
    Ok it does work. The trick is just finding a key combo that is not already in use, which is not many.
     

Share This Page