Reminders is just weird...

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by pdutta2000, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. pdutta2000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #1
    So I was excited to upgrade to iOS 5 and get reminders. Using it however is just weird. Here's the issues I'm having:

    1. You can't use the app unless you link it to iCloud. The "+" sign disappears when you unlink it. Why? I just want reminders on my phone. I don't need to sync it and see it on 5 other devices. Makes no sense. Is this a bug?

    2. I have 2 calendar accounts and Reminders is attached to both of them and yet no reminders actually show up on the calendar. Why? This makes no sense. Why the forced link to the calendar if there's no real link to the calendar view.

    Is there some type of user guide I'm missing. It seemed so easy in the keynote and now this iCloud requirement is killing it.
     
  2. NWI73 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
  3. samcraig macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #3
    I'm not linked to iCloud and reminders works fine for me?
     
  4. jigsb007 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #4
    How do you do reminders on location base ?

    hey, my reminders are working but it doesnt show option to remind on location.
    how do i turn it on ?
     
  5. Dandaman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Location:
    soCal
    #5
    select the reminder, then under the details screen, select "Remind Me" then you'll see the option to turn "At a Location" on
     
  6. sooner518 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #6
    that happened to me the first 2 days I had the gold master. mysteriously, a couple days later, it just randomly appeared when I tried it again.
     
  7. samcraig macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
  8. jigsb007 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #8
    which list ?
     
  9. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #9
    I was surprised at how well it works..

    The location based reminders hardly use any battery what-so-ever and work perfectly.
     
  10. globalist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #10
    AFAIK only iCloud reminders support that.
     
  11. BurntReality macrumors 6502

    BurntReality

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tyler, TX
    #11
    I can't get the location feature to work in reminders. It shows up and I can set stuff, they just don't seem to be going off when I leave or arrive somewhere.
     
  12. jigsb007 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #12
    I dont have Location option AT ALL, As some one mention that it only supports icloud reminders , so i turn on Reminders in icloud, but still no luck.

    Any idea ?
     
  13. lelisa13p macrumors 68000

    lelisa13p

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA USA
    #13
    Assuming that means the list of actual reminders. :)
     
  14. samcraig macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #14
    You need to (at least I did) create a new LIST. There are two default "directories" - one is tasks(? my phone is not near me at the moment) and the other is completed.

    First hit the + sign and create a new directory/folder. IE - "My Tasks"

    The go into that - create a new event - and where it has options for time/date - you can also turn on location
     
  15. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #15
    Which iPhone model are you using? Location-based reminders aren't available for the iPhone 3GS, as far as I know, just the 4 and 4S.
     
  16. MEJHarrison macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #16
    I was extremely disappointed to learn that Reminders can't be snoozed. That sucks. Sometimes I setup a reminder, but when the event comes around, I'd like to put it off and be reminded again in a few hours / days / weeks.
     
  17. jigsb007 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #17
    Ok Finally i understood....And i get it right this time..

    Location only works on iCloud reminders...
    Actually i have 4 diff. calenders set up with my iphone, so when i try to create a reminder using ( + ) sing on the right Top corner, it was creating a reminder on my local calender and which is not supported by Location.

    But, finally i found icloud and change it to that and Bingo ...

    But, now can i select Icloud as DEFAULT ? so i get both the option for reminder, 10 day - time and 2. Location ?

    Thanks you guys for your support
     
  18. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #18
    If you go into Settings>Mail, Contacts, Calendars and scroll all the way to the bottom, you should see the Reminders options (Sync and Default List). Tap on Default List and select the iCloud list that you want as the default.
     
  19. samcraig macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #19
    I am telling you - you do NOT need iCloud to be active to have location based reminders.

    I don't have iCloud activated and I can set location based reminders.
     
  20. French macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    #20
    I don't understand why I can't decide what order they go in (either alphabetically or by due date). When they show up in my notifications I have reminders for TOMORROW showing up before stuff that's due today.

    That makes NO sense to me at all. The ability to sort them would be nice Apple! At least give us the choice of date or alpha!
     
  21. brianmcdoogle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    #21
    I've already sent feedback to Apple to get them to add a Badge icon. Without a badge icon, I can't just look at a glance to see how many reminders I have for the day. It is frustrating.
     
  22. irishapplefan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #22
    Thanks for this post. I had sync to iCloud on for reminders but any time I opened it the "plus" button in the top right was missing. Just turned off the sync to icloud option, app is working perfectly know
     

Share This Page