Remote App for iPad?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by JReynolds, Apr 24, 2010.

  1. JReynolds macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #1
    Is there a remote like app for the iPad? I really dont want to use the ugly one from the iPhone.

    The iPad could be the ultimate total control remote.
     
  2. jonnyb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    Rye/London, UK
    #2
    There isn't one yet but I'd be very surprised if there isn't one in development by Apple right now.

    I'm sure it will be great but for now the iPhone one will do for me.
     
  3. Julien macrumors G4

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    I have RedEye and they are supposed to be developing an iPad App. I'm going to email and inquire Monday.
     
  4. emaja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    I am extremely disappointed that Apple didn't have all their own apps ready for the iPad from Day 1. Is there any excuse for Remote, MobileMe iDisk, and Gallery to NOT be iPad ready?
     
  5. JReynolds thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #5
    Seems like Apple just wants to sit back and let the developers do all the work. I hope they become more active in their own App Store.
     
  6. Julien macrumors G4

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    I assume that by the OP's statement "The iPad could be the ultimate total control remote." that he/she is NOT referring to the Apple iTunes remote but a WiFi controlled IR transmitter remote device like RedEye.
     
  7. OGDaniel macrumors 6502a

    OGDaniel

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona
    #7
    I agree. And they could've put some iLife type apps on here too. GarageBand, iWeb, and others. They should've shot for bigger and better things software wise.
     
  8. sassenach74 macrumors 65816

    sassenach74

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    Hampshire, England
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    Yeah maybe. Maybe they have their priorities different to what you think they should be. Silly them for not letting you run their business, it would run so much more efficiently and everyone would have everything they want, when they want.
    Seriously, you sound like a spoiled brat.....I want.....I want....waaaaaaa.
     
  9. pooryou macrumors 65816

    pooryou

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    #9
    I use Rowmote Pro and it works very well, but I can't tell from the vague OP if that is the kind of thing you are asking about or not.
     
  10. Cheffy Dave macrumors 68030

    Cheffy Dave

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl
    #10
    I am sure the engineering to get the package ready as it exists for day 1 was immense, not an excuse, but as Steve would say, "be patient Grasshopper"
    I am sure, where this entity is going, will boggle the mind, THIS is not all it can be, which is why we early adopters, believers , if you will, await the expansion of this form factor, as well as all future form factors. We know, at least now, the vision is yet to be revealed, much like where the i-Phone is now, could not have been seen on day one:cool:
     
  11. emaja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #11
    I know what you're saying, but what better way to show off your new "magical" iPad than with your own apps running as iPad programs, not upscaled iPhone apps?

    I might have to check out Rowmote. I would like to use my iPad as a Harmony remote replacement.
     
  12. pooryou macrumors 65816

    pooryou

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    #12
    Just so I don't waste anyone's time: Rowmote is an app to control your Mac, so it's more a replacement for the Apple Remote, not a Harmony Remote (except when the Harmony Remote is acting as an Apple Remote of course). Works great for a Mac Mini in use as an HTPC, but you can't use it to control your TV or stereo. IMO it's not clear if this is what the OP wanted or not.
     
  13. emaja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #13
    Sorry. My last to sentences were separate thoughts. Sorry for the confusion.
     
  14. msavwah macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    Oahu
    #14
    Ditto
     
  15. dXTC macrumors 68020

    dXTC

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Up, up in my studio, studio
    #15
    The minute GarageBand gets released for the iPad, I'm downloading it. And I don't even have an iPad yet.

    That little problem would likely be corrected less than 24 hours later, though, and my long-in-the-tooth Toshiba laptop would see its last use. At least by myself, anyway. :D
     

Share This Page