Remote app (from Apple) - how to choose library

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by HawaiiMacAddict, Aug 3, 2008.

  1. HawaiiMacAddict macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #1
    Aloha everyone,

    Maybe I'm missing something, but I can't get the Remote app to work with my iTunes library. I connect up my iPhone then fire up Remote. I see a screen on my iPhone with a 4-digit code asking me to select my iPhone within iTunes. I'm assuming that a window should then pop up asking for confirmation of the code displayed on my iPhone. Nothing happens, however - no such window pops up or anything.

    What am I missing? How do I get my iPhone and iTunes to see and work with each other? Any and all assistance will be greatly appreciated.

    HawaiiMacAddict

    P.S. This happened on my 2nd (replacement) iPhone 3G - I returned the original due to what actually turned out to be a corrupted backup file (the Apple Store employee replaced it anyway :D)
     
  2. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #2
    when you see the four-digit code, you should see a little remote icon below "deviced" in the sidebar to the left. click on that, and you'll be prompted to enter the four-digit code.
     
  3. HawaiiMacAddict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #3
    Aloha siurpeeman,

    No joy on the remote icon below my iPhone. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong - what was the sequence when you did this?

    HawaiiMacAddict
     
  4. atluten macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #4
    Is your iPhone on the same wireless network as your computer?
     
  5. Daiden macrumors 6502a

    Daiden

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    This is key -- remember it doesn't work through bluetooth or infrared. As the poster above stated it's all done through wifi.
     
  6. Pooshka macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #6
    Are you using iTunes 7.7? Are you connected to a Wi-Fi network?

    Try again
     
  7. HawaiiMacAddict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #7
    Aloha guys,

    You're a step beyond me with the WiFi thing. I can't even get the Library selected. In other words, the iPhone has to be connected to be seen in the devices list on the left-hand side of the iTunes. Apparently when the Remote app is fired up, the iPhone has to be physically connected to the computer. The app tells the user to fire up iTunes and select the iPhone from the Devices list. Apparently, also, a second listing, one for Remote, should be listed directly below that of the connected iPhone. When the user clicks on that Remote icon, a window should pop up into which the user inputs the code as shown on the iPhone.

    My problem is that I never see the Remote icon directly below that of my iPhone, as shown in the attachments. Also, I verified in Preference for iTunes that my iTunes (7.7.1) is indeed looking for iPhone and/or iPod touch remotes. I'll probably end up calling Apple Care tomorrow for more in-the-weeds things I can do. If there's anything anyone here can offer, I'd be most appreciative.

    HawaiiMacAddict
     

    Attached Files:

  8. .Andy macrumors 68030

    .Andy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    The Mergui Archipelago
    #8
    Hey HawaiiMacAddict,
    You don't have to have you iPhone physically connected to your computer. As the others said the crucial part is that your iPhone is connected to the same wireless network as your computer. So make sure;
    (1) your computer is connected to your wireless network in your home.
    (2) your iPhone is connected to the wireless network in your home.
    (3) When you've done those two, fire up the remote app and it will prompt you with the iTunes library and the 4 digit code.
    (4)Your computer will then display your iPhone a a remote it in the devices wirelessly.
    (5)Click on it and enter the 4 digit code.
    Enjoy :)!
     
  9. Daiden macrumors 6502a

    Daiden

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    Here's how I did it:

    1) Connected my computer and my iPhone to the same wireless network.

    2) Started up the Remote.app application on the iPhone.

    3) Went to iTunes on my Macbook Pro and waited a moment for the device to appear in the menu on the left.

    4) Put the appropriate codes into the device/computer (forget which one needs the code and which gives it).

    Worked like a charm.

    *Edit* See above also.
     
  10. atluten macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #10
    Actually the phone doesn't need to be physically connected to the computer in order to connect to the library. Here are some steps to take, just to make sure.

    1. Make sure iPhone is on the same wireless network as your computer.
    2. Launch iTunes.
    3. Launch the Remote app and choose your library.

    You should see the appropriate icon in iTunes.
     
  11. HawaiiMacAddict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #11
    Aloha guys,

    Thanks for the gentle prodding on the WiFi thing. I guess I just had it in my head that I had to have my iPhone connected via the charging cable. Everything is set up now - thanks for your persistence :D

    HawaiiMacAddict
     
  12. .Andy macrumors 68030

    .Andy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    The Mergui Archipelago
    #12
    Yay good news!!!! Enjoy it dude :D! I find myself a foot away from my laptop using it :p
     

Share This Page