Remote Desktop for Mac. Cant connect over Internet Mac to Mac.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by echodesign23, Dec 21, 2010.

1. echodesign23 macrumors newbie

Hey guys,

I'm a graphic designer, but technically i'm not that clued up on things regarding IP addresses, VPN etc. So help here would be fantastic and preferable in the simplest terms that anyone could understand.

But heres the situation. I have two macs, one at work, one at home. I want to connect from the one at work to screen share, access fles etc the one at home, or vice verca. Both are running the same version of Mac OS X Leopard. My one at work is fairly new, although the one at home is slightly older, G4 series. (aparently Remote Desktop should still work with PowerPcs), obviously both computers are on completely separate internet networks in two completely different locations.

Lets call computer at WORK - computer A.
    and at HOME computer B.

Heres what i've done.
    1) I have purchased Remote Desktop for mac (Version 3.3)
    2) On both computers have allowed 'Remote Management' & 'Remote Login' to the main administrator name and allocated it with the computer password (which is actually the same on both computers).
    3) Discovered my I.P address from COMPUTER B
    4) Installed Remote Desktop on COMPUTER A
    5) Pressed 'Add by Address' on COMPUTER A and filled in the IP address for COMPUTER B, user name and password, double checked and correct.
    6) I'm sitting at COMPUTER A right now and it says 'Connecting to IP 192.16x.x.x' but never does and fails after a minute. COMPUTER B, is definitely awake and has given all permissions that i stated above, it is connected to the internet via Airport

Can anyone please help me out and point me in the direction why this isnt working, why isn't it connecting? Is there something else i need to do? Again, i'm not super technical so in simplest terms would be fantastic.

Many thanks