Remote Desktop on MacBook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by fixius, Jul 17, 2016.

  1. fixius macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2016
    #1
    I've been looking at the Macbook for a long while now (basically since they first released), and am currently toying with upgrading my MacBook Air. I may wind up holding out to see what the new MacBook Pros are like, if they ever come that is.

    My work requires me to connect remotely to a Windows Desktop, so I use the official Windows Remote Desktop app when necessary. Does anybody have any experience using this on the new MacBook? And if so has it caused any massive issues with the MacBook itself? I hear a lot of people talking about it getting slowed down with various tasks, and besides connecting remotely my usage is pretty much entirely standard issue stuff.

    Somewhat lengthy post, but I appreciate any help in advance!
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    Running Microsoft Remote Desktop is not in any way computer intensive; it'll work fine on the current MacBook.
     
  3. SchodMC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Location:
    Germany
    #3
    Same to me. Used it on an external monitor, 1080p, without a problem. (MacBook 2016, m3)
     
  4. Nmeyrick macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    #4
    I bought my rMB 2016 M5 primarily to work from home by remoting into my office win 7 desktop. We have to use a java based corporate remoting solution but I imagine performance would be similar. No stress on the computer, the only issues I have had were due to slow Internet connection introducing lag.

    With half display brightness I can get close to 10 hours battery even with radio streaming which also suggests the load is not pushing the machine in any way.

    Only disappointment is that the win7 display looks so grainy compared to the native display elements
     

Share This Page