Remote Desktop Question.

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by MeanieYL, Jun 18, 2009.

1. MeanieYL macrumors newbie

I am a High School Teacher, have 24 i mac computers (silver purchased 2008)
    I "watch" all my students with Remote desktop. All Mac.
    My big question is this - is there a way to temporarily disable to www. for the day if they are off task? Or shut down the use of internet for all the students for the day?

-Melanie

2. sdsvtdriver macrumors 65816

Yes, but that would depend on the infrastructure of the room. If it is wired, you can unplug the line to the 'outside world'.

Wireless, you can change the access point to restrict access.

3. MeanieYL thread starter macrumors newbie

Remote desktop

Thanks for the response.

I am ethernet throughout the room. And to get to the hub to unplug the internet for the day I have to go down the hall, unlock a room, unlock the box where two computer labs feed into, and I can not do that. Another teacher was showing me deep freeze, a really cool PC program like remote desktop and she can disable the internet on individual computers, she can disable programs. There was an icon on her desktop just for that. I was really impressed, I find it hard to believe remote desktop is so far behind this PC application! All I seem to be able to do is turn off computers, lock computers. send messages, basic stuff. Maybe it is not the best for a classroom setting???:(

-Melanie

4. fireshot91 macrumors 601

fireshot91

Remote Desktop is meant to be for viewing your desktop from a remote location- Hence it's name.

My teachers use a program called Synchroneyes I think. Or something like that. I don't know if it's for Mac since our whole county is PCs.

5. MeanieYL thread starter macrumors newbie

Remote desktop

Looking for someone who knows something about remote desktop.

6. ElectroGhandi macrumors regular

ElectroGhandi