Remote Desktop?!?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by famous600, Apr 1, 2013.

  1. famous600 macrumors 6502a

    famous600

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #1
    What's everyone using for a Remote Desktop on their mini? Tried teamviewer but it won't show my desktop if I'm not on the HDMI input on my TV. Splashtop is so so. Any other great ones out there?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    TeamViewer should absolutely work, no matter what display you're using, even if you have none. Check your settings. Are you using a regular display in addition to your TV?

    I use and recommend TeamViewer, which is free for personal use and works with Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, Ubuntu, iPhone, iPad, etc.
     
  3. famous600 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    famous600

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #3
    No display just the tv. I can log in using teamviewer and see just a wonderful black screen. I use splashtop and works fine. Just don't like the layout.
     
  4. pollaxe macrumors 6502

    pollaxe

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Location:
    West of England
    #4
    I've been using iTeleport for a while and quite like it (I bought it when there was an offer on it.)
     
  5. blanka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #5
    Just the standard OSX solution "Screen sharing"
     
  6. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
  7. CausticPuppy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #7
    Just the built-in OSX screen sharing.


    When outside my home network, I use screen sharing over an SSH tunnel to control my mac mini at home.
     
  8. sou1 so1di3r macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #8
    can you explain how I might set this up?
     
  9. Team Timm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Location:
    FL
    #9
  10. jaysy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    #10
    When I was working for a tech hotline I used a program called join.me. It works across platforms. Its a little picky with permissions on windows but it works great on my mini with what little I have done with. idk if it would work in your situation but I thought I would throw it out there. the website is join.me
     
  11. dbroncos78087 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #11
    I don't have it setup on my MM yet, but I use LogMeIn for my RDP work. Usually it's just logging into my PC desktop when I need to use Access or Visio for class.
     
  12. Drharrington macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    #12
    If between two Macs - back to my Mac? Tried that?
     
  13. mslide, Apr 8, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2013

    mslide macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #13
    What he's doing is setting up a secure tunnel between his remote computer and home computer/server, via SSH, and forwarding ports. This let's one use SSH to access all sorts of services, on the server, without having to open up those services' ports in your home router/firewall/etc, thus making things more secure. People do this for all sorts of things: accessing a home FTP server, a website, a home email server... all without opening up those services to the outside world.

    I've never done it to specifically use Apple's screen sharing but I do it for other things. It goes something like this:

    Allow one to SSH into your home computer via System Preferences -> Sharing -> Remote Login. I'd limit it to just your user if you use multiple accounts. I highly recommend setting up an SSH key and disabling remote password logins. That means that you can only SSH if you have the correct private key (it won't let you try to login by typing in your account's password). It makes it more secore. Google it.

    You'll have to open up a port in your home router to let SSH traffic in. You can use pretty much whatever outside port you want but it should be routed to your home computer/server on port 22.

    Now, it's just a matter of using the correct ssh command to do this. You want to use 'ssh's '-L' argument. Something like "ssh username@homeservernameoripadress -L 5900:homeservernameoripadress:5900". This allows port 5900 traffic to go through your SSH session all without opening up port 5900 in your home router/firewall. 5900 should be the port Apple use's for screen sharing. Once you've got your tunnel setup, you just access it like you would if you were at home but at "localhost" instead of your home computer's name/ip address.

    If your home internet service provider uses dynamic ip addresses, you can use a free service like dyndns.org so you can have your own domain name so you don't always have to keep track of what your current home IP is.

    Hope this helps. Google "ssh tunnel" for more info.
     
  14. kumquat macrumors regular

    kumquat

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #14
    I'm using the built in Screen Sharing, too, and it's great. Just make sure you give yourself permission to access everything you'll want to use like attached external drives.
     
  15. Nunyabinez macrumors 68000

    Nunyabinez

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    #15
    Way too complicated. If you sign into "Back to My Mac" on both machines you can access both within your network and and anywhere you have internet access using screen sharing (make sure you use the same apple id on both). I access my home computer from my office all the time this way. No extra software or configuration needed.
     
  16. famous600 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    famous600

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #16
    Ya I wouldn't really consider screen sharing "remote". I use screen sharing on my network but was really looking for options outside of my home network. Back to my mac is awesome in theory, if you have a MacBook which I do but of course an iPad is more portable so is preferable.
     
  17. Nunyabinez macrumors 68000

    Nunyabinez

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    #17
    FYI, Screen sharing works across the Internet if you enable back to my mac, but it doesn't work on an iPad. I often wish Apple would make a screen sharing app for the iPad. but I also have an air, so I don't wish really hard.

    BTW, I have used TeamViewer but never had any problems, so I can't help you with that, as it would be my second recommendation.
     
  18. pacmania1982 macrumors 6502a

    pacmania1982

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #18
    I use Apple Remote Desktop when I'm at home (screen sharing works well in 10.8 however)

    Or when I'm out and about I use logmein.com.

    I have a Mac mini in the living room hooked up to our TV via HDMI and I have no issues with either ARD or Logmein.

    pac
     
  19. famous600 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    famous600

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #19
    Yeah I recently switched back to teamviewer and it working perfectly now. Guess an erase and reinstall did the trick. I would agree with many of you that so far teamviewer takes the cake.
     
  20. willgreene99 macrumors regular

    willgreene99

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    DFW
    #20
    I am using Real VNC. It works. Even with multiple displays as BTMM does not update the secondary screens. Also, it is able to connect to both PC's and Macs and there is a IOS version. So, you're pretty much covered no matter what you use.Whether, it's a hot topic and I need to remote in using my iPhone, which I only do when I have to. If I am on my iPad or Macbook Air, Pro, I can connect to several MAc's back at the office or at home. The speed is great and responsive and the feature set is robust.

    Ok, enough with the commercial sounding tone. It works for me and I can't work without it.
     
  21. famous600 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    famous600

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

Share This Page