Remote Desktop

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by cdrobinson83, Dec 9, 2018.

  1. cdrobinson83 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    #1
    I’ve been scouring the internet (obviously not well enough) and I can’t figure out how to set up my macs for remote connection when NOT on the same network. I enabled port forwarding, I made sure the computers are enabled for remote connection, etc. I’m clearly missing something. It works fine when on the same WiFi network, but I can’t get it to connect when I’m on separate networks. When I try SSH in terminal, it just keeps giving me the port22 timeout. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. chabig macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #3
    The trouble when remote is figuring how to route data to the other device. There needs to be a means for the computer making the connection find the other on the giant internet. There are really only two ways to do this:

    1. Assign a static IP address to the machine you want to connect to. This is impractical for most people.

    2. Run software on the remote computer that uploads its IP address to a server and keeps it updated when it changes. The traveling machine then queries the server for that address.

    Back to My Mac used to method 2, but it's gone with Mojave. iMessage also works like method 2 because the iMessage server acts as an intermediary. But to use iMessage, both machines have to be attended. Search the forums here for discussions about Back to My Mac replacements and you'll find some ideas. Many people use something called TeamViewer. I spend $20 for Screens (in the Mac app store).
     
  3. mikzn macrumors 6502a

    mikzn

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #4
    Once you connect (using iMessage) and give permission to the other mac to control your screen it does not seem to need to be attended? i Have done this many times to help frends with thier mac and have tested for my own mac to mac use.

    Also AFAIK Team Viewer needs permission to take control of screen too?
     
  4. cdrobinson83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    #5
    I want to be able to access my mac when away from home. I think in order for messages to work, someone has to be there to accept my request to share.

    I've read really good things about Screens 4, I'll probably give that a shot. Thanks everyone.
     
  5. chabig macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #6
    I’ve been using Screens for about three months. The remote Mac runs a small piece of software called Screens Connect, which updates the IP address with their server. The connecting Mac runs the Screens app itself, which provides the user interface.
     
  6. harriska2 macrumors 6502a

    harriska2

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    #7
    I also use screens. It was on sale at $10 a bit ago.
     

Share This Page