Remote disc Snow Leopard instalation

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jacekpodwysocki, Nov 13, 2012.

  1. jacekpodwysocki macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    #1
    I have a problem installing Snow Leopard on my 15" Mac Book Pro (2010). The thing is that its optical drive is broken so I decided to use Remote Disc option. So I installed the software in my other PC, set up everything, connected both computers to the same network and viola-the installation dvd shows up in my finder. I open it and it prompts me to restart the computer before instalation. Once it restarts it goes back to the login screen though...This means that it looses the connection to the remote drive? Whan am I doing wrong? Any other suggestions how to install the system with the use of another PC and network?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. jacekpodwysocki thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    #3
    Thank you for your answer. Would't copying a disc image to a usb flash drive using Disk Utility do?
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Probably would do too, I am not proficient with DU in that regard though.
     
  5. bluespaceoddity, Nov 14, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2012

    bluespaceoddity macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #5
    Using Disk Utility will work just fine to create an Installer on an external USB or Firewire disk/partition.
    Format he External under DU > Erase.
    Create the Installer under DU > Restore.
    Drag the OS X Installation DVD to the Source box.
    Drag the USB (or Firewire) Disk to the Destination box.

    The article linked below suggests the feature is only available for certain Airs and Minis but here are instructions for "Reinstalling software using Remote Install Mac OS X v10.5 and v10.6"
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2129

    Edit:
    Looks like Remote Install on non-Airs/Minis can be enabled with a Terminal command:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=455975
     
  6. jacekpodwysocki thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    #6
    This worked perfectly, thank you for your time! :)
     

Share This Page