Remote for Airport Express?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by macnvrbck, Aug 5, 2008.

  1. macnvrbck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    #1
    Do I really need to go over to my computer to change a song?
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    An iPhone or iPod Touch can do it. Kingston has a remote than can be plugged into the Express. If you don't have an iPhone or iPod Touch, I would suggest getting the Griffin AirClick USB, as it uses RF (so no line of sight). It also works with other applications, like PowerPoint and Keynote.

    Don't forget you can also use a bluetooth keyboard, which is what I did between the time my Linux friend broke my AirClick while developing drivers for Linux, and the release of the Remote App for iPhone.

    TEG
     
  3. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    Unfortunately, yes.

    You may be able to use a remote with your computer, but that would still require you to be in the same room.

    EDIT: Or just get that nifty little device TEG mentioned.
     
  4. Batt macrumors 65816

    Batt

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
  5. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #5
    yea, you could try the apple remote that used to come on macs (now its 19 USD) or the ipod touch/iphone's remote app (developed by apple) or any of the 3rd party remotes out there.
     
  6. macnvrbck thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    #6
    I have a 12 inch powerbook.... not IR remote capable.
     

Share This Page