Remote Install Mac OS X on a Macbook

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Macnoviz, Dec 7, 2009.

  1. Macnoviz macrumors 65816

    Macnoviz

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Roeselare, Belgium
    #1
    Hi,

    I find myself in a tricky situation: I'm using a Macbook whose Superdrive is kaput, broken, sleeping with the fishes, and I'm trying to install Snow Leopard.

    "Hang on!", you say, "can't you just use remote disk access like those fancy Macbook Airs? I know a simple terminal command to enable that on your computer."

    And, of course, you would be right. However, for some reason my Hard Drive is 'damaged' and it needs to be 'repaired', and so the OS X install program told me, I had to use a function called 'Remote Install Mac OS X', which would allow me to boot up from a remote dvd. And therein, as the bard would say, lies the rub. For when I get to the part in the Remote Install Mac OS X wizard where it says I need to choose my network from the option-key boot menu, I cannot find that option list. So what's the problem?

    Well, that part I already figured out. Only the macbook air and the late 2009 mac mini have those options in their boot menu, since those are the ones that support remote disc.

    if you don't have much time, just read this part:
    So what I need the infinite wisdom of the MacRumors for is simple: is there a way to enable the Remote Install Mac Os X option on a regular macbook?

    And yes, I have already googled it and found some people who asked similar questions, but none of them got an answer.
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Remote install takes a huge amount of time anyway. Can you not just boot the Macbook into target disk mode (connected to the "good" Mac) and install that way?
     
  3. Macnoviz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macnoviz

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Roeselare, Belgium
    #3
    I would need to buy a firewire 800 to 400 cable, since the 'good mac' is an iMac, I'll try remote installing first. I might be on to something using this page, I'm gonna try that now.

    EDIT: Oh, sweet irony, that only seems to work in 10.6
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    If you're having hard drive issues, I'd be less concerned about upgrading the OS and more about resolving that issue - call me crazy but install a new OS on a damaged hard drive doesn't seem to make sense.
     
  5. Macnoviz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macnoviz

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Roeselare, Belgium
    #5
    it wasn't really physically damaged, and when I found an external dvd reader, it installed without the warning, so this question is now purely academic, although it would be nice to find a solution in case some future users encounters the problem.
     

Share This Page