Remote Install Mac OS X

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ThirteenXIII, Jun 29, 2008.

  1. ThirteenXIII macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #1
    I have a few questions regarding some as you will advanced options.

    I gave a hand me down PowerMac G5 to a relative have everything currently installed. all their apps, OS etc good to go, I made a back up of it fo rhtem and for me as i will have a macpro with spare drives.

    my plan is in case something out of the ordinary happens where they need a re-imaging of their system. (theyre not techy savvy to say the least but they do catch on) but to save effort and time explaining (since ill be out of state) I wanted to find out if it was possible to do a remote install or anything like that from my location to theres how I would go about this and I would need on their end.

    or if it is even possible. as I m going to have a faux server with the Pro with my portable MBP that I could also access on the go.

    any advice or ideas, please let me know!

    thank you so much
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    A remote install over the Internet won't work, but you can certainly remote install from that MacBook Pro if you're on the same subnet as they are (basically, this means in the same building as them).
     
  3. harley2g macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #3
    How do i do that?

    Hi there,

    Do you know how I can install 10.5 from a DVD or image of the DVD onto a MacBook without having a 10.5 server.

    I have looked for step by step instructions with no luck.. Can i set the DVD or image as the startup drive in the system preferences pane?

    Thank you
    -h
     
  4. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #4
    You cannot boot a Mac from a disk image without the server edition of Mac OS X. However, if you're installing onto a Mac without an optical drive (such as a MacBook Air) or onto a Mac with a defective optical drive, you can use FireWire target disk mode to perform the install.
     
  5. anolis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #5
    couldnt you set up a VPN and do it through the tunnel?
     
  6. lemonade-maker macrumors 6502

    lemonade-maker

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #6

Share This Page