Remote IO audio is very noisy

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by techgentsia, Dec 14, 2011.

1. techgentsia, Dec 14, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 15, 2011

techgentsia macrumors newbie

Hi. I am new to core audio and remote io. I need data of size 320 bytes which i encode and send. Here is what i have done:

Code:
    AudioComponentDescription desc;

desc.componentType = kAudioUnitType_Output;
    desc.componentSubType = kAudioUnitSubType_RemoteIO;
    desc.componentFlags = 0;
    desc.componentFlagsMask = 0;
    desc.componentManufacturer = 0;

// Get component
    AudioComponent inputComponent = AudioComponentFindNext(NULL, &desc);

// Get audio units
    AudioComponentInstanceNew(inputComponent, &audioUnit);

// Enable IO for recording
    UInt32 flag = 1;
    AudioUnitSetProperty(audioUnit,kAudioOutputUnitProperty_EnableIO,kAudioUnitScope_Input,kInputBus,&flag,sizeof(flag));

// Enable IO for playback
    AudioUnitSetProperty(audioUnit,kAudioOutputUnitProperty_EnableIO,kAudioUnitScope_Output,kOutputBus,&flag,sizeof(flag));

UInt32 shouldAllocateBuffer = 1;
    AudioUnitSetProperty(audioUnit, kAudioUnitProperty_ShouldAllocateBuffer, kAudioUnitScope_Global, 1, &shouldAllocateBuffer, sizeof(shouldAllocateBuffer));

// Describe format
    audioFormat.mSampleRate = 8000.00;
    audioFormat.mFormatID = kAudioFormatLinearPCM;
    audioFormat.mFormatFlags = kAudioFormatFlagIsSignedInteger|kAudioFormatFlagIsPacked;
    audioFormat.mFramesPerPacket = 1;
    audioFormat.mChannelsPerFrame = 1;
    audioFormat.mBitsPerChannel = 16;
    audioFormat.mBytesPerPacket = 2;
    audioFormat.mBytesPerFrame = 2;

// Apply format
    AudioUnitSetProperty(audioUnit,kAudioUnitProperty_StreamFormat,kAudioUnitScope_Output,1,&audioFormat,**sizeof(audioFormat));

AudioUnitSetProperty(audioUnit,kAudioUnitProperty_StreamFormat,kAudioUnitScope_Input,0,&audioFormat,sizeof(audioFormat));

// Set input callback
    AURenderCallbackStruct callbackStruct;