Remote Login to Windows?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by crad159, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. crad159 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #1
    Hi all. I just got a MacBook Pro and I am loving it! I still have my desktop that runs Windows 7 and I keep it on constantly for seeding torrents.
    My question is, is there a way to remote log into my pc from the Mac?
    I know I could partition my drive and install windows and buy parallels or vmfusion...But all that aside is there any other way?
     
  2. unixperience macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    #2
    this is a software/internet service... BUT ITS GREATand free
    I use it all the time (you can use it from ipads too i believe, for mac unix, windows, it doesn't care)

    its called logmein https://secure.logmein.com/welcome/...57021&ef_id=lcFNuzEQRDsAAMtX:20110819063329:s

    its free, free free no gimmicks, so you need to make an account (this is how you manage your computers) you then download the logmein application on your windows comp (or whatever comp you want to remotely control, i think the free version only gets 3 computers), then you can login with a web browser to your account and control your windows comp!!! you can do this from any web browser or computer or operating system.

    hoep that helps
     
  3. jscw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    #3
    I use Remote Desktop Connection. It's from Microsoft and it's free.
    PS: Your Windows 7 must be pro or above to accept remote connection.

     
  4. unixperience macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    #4
    doesn't that involve installing a windows os though??
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
  6. krburrell macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    #6
    I use Remote Desktop Connection and I like it a lot.
     
  7. unixperience macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    #7
    wow, amazing find! I didn't know they made that, i've only used it one windows hosts

    Does this only work on the same network? or can you access it anywhere?
     
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    You need to be able to route to the IP, i.e. same network, VPN, tunnel, etc... This is where teamviewer and GoToMyPC type things may have a slight edge.

    B
     
  9. unixperience macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    #9
    yeah, it looks like it could be possible with some port forwarding and the routers internet ip address, I'd love to try but don't have access to two machines right now.. especially on two diff networks
     
  10. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #10
    It's possible. I did it a few years ago, from high school. You just gotta know all the right numbers, and have it set up correctly. It's not hard, just... a lot.
     
  11. danpass macrumors 68020

    danpass

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #11
    anywhere. I can log into my work computer (Vista Home Premium ...... I hacked it to 'correct' the fact that it won't remote as it should.)

    ----------

    all you need is the IP and set the router to port forward 3389 to that machine's local IP (as determined by the router, probably something like 192.168.x.x)

    If the isp IP fluctuates then set up http://www.no-ip.com/ on the computer you want to log in to.

    Once that is set up you replace the static IP calling address with what you set up in no-ip.

    If you get the concept it becomes easier than it sounds.
     

Share This Page