Remote stops working - needs reboot

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by jmargolis, Jan 24, 2010.

  1. jmargolis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    #1
    I am learning Spanish with mp3s I listen to on iTunes. And this requires hitting pause frequently to "think" before answering. When I do this with the apple remote it works fine for awhile. But after 15 minutes or so (or after hitting pause and play maybe 20 times), the remote stops working and I need to use the mouse or keyboard instead. Restarting iTunes doesn't help, but rebooting my Mac does.

    Question: Is there a way to "restart" just the remote sensor?
    Question: Anyone else ever get this? Any recommendations?

    I have 27in iMac i5.
     
  2. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #2
    sometimes as batteries get old, they'll work for a while, then run down, but after they sit, they'll build up enough charge to work for a while again.

    When the remote stops working, aim the remote into any camera (cell phone or isight on the mac will work) and see if you see a blue-ish white light coming out of the remote. You'll have to have the remote and camera pointed directly at each other.
     
  3. jmargolis thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    #3
    Yes I see the blue-ish white light. Also, the remote works fine with my Apple TV. So I think the remote is good. For some reason iTunes stops responding to the remote after awhile (and then it's fine again after reboot).
     
  4. tonyburkhart macrumors regular

    tonyburkhart

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    Is your remote paired with the iMac?

    Have you paired it with your iMac?

    Sounds like it is default to control all devices and times-out.

    Check out this pairing article : http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1619

    ---

    Also, I don't know your exact setup... but could you just listen to the mp3's on the Apple TV, since it works all the time?
     
  5. jmargolis thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    #5
    I figured out how to fix it. In System Preferences -> Security -> Disable remote control infrared receiver. By disabling it and the re-enabling it, it works again. This also enabled me to pair the remote.
     
  6. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #6
    pairing does nothing to the remote.
    there are 256 different remote IDs. if you have a remote with an id of 67, it will send "play-67."
    All pairing does is tell the mac to only listen to 67.
     

Share This Page