Remote to a Apple iMac from a PC?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by trey5498, Apr 1, 2009.

  1. trey5498 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #1
    I have Apple Remote Desktop 3 installed on my work iMac OS X 10.5 and I can connect to from another Mac no problem. Is there a way to remote to it using Microsoft Remote Desktop running on Vista? Or do I have to use VNC?

    If I have to use VNC, I have UltraVNC to connect to my linux box and it works fine. However How do I set it up to remote to apple remote desktop? What port do I use? I use 5901 for the linux box.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    I setup a VNC password and use TightVNC all the time to manage my Macbook from my Vista tower.

    I have a feeling my MacBook might end up being a basement/closet server one day once I replace it.
     
  3. trey5498 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    I didn't make an specific port changes. Whatever is default for OS X/VNC.
     
  5. trey5498 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
  6. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #6
    Do you have System Preferences -> Screen Sharing -> Computer Settings -> VNC users may control screen with Password ... checked?

    You Mac won't let a vnc viewer connect unless you check that and specify a password. By the way, the port is 5900.
     

Share This Page