remote wipe?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by michaelmaxwell2, Jul 15, 2008.

  1. michaelmaxwell2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #1
    Whats the status on this option on the phone? I haven't heard anything about it after wwdc .
     
  2. FearlessFreep macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    #2
    This is active and available through ActiveSync using MS Exchange 2003 SP2 or 2007. The mail administrator can elect to perform a remote wipe on the device.

    This is primarily a function of ActiveSync and not 2.0, per se.
     
  3. zed2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Location:
    Bucks
    #3
    well it works if you have exchange...

    IT was supposed to also be present for the MobileMe users but I guess it's on the back burner for the moment.

    And hey even worse... Apple are currently lagging in their own products... they're currently working better if you buy exchange than if you used the iphone with Apple Servers!.. Go figure that out!

    --Zed
     
  4. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #4
    I don't think it was ever announced for Mobile Me, only Exchange.
     
  5. JonJParr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #5
    It works!

    We use Exchange Server 2007 in our organisation and today we tested it on my iPod Touch (with new firmware) as I wasn't about to let anyone wipe my iPhone 3G! It took about 10 seconds to initiate the wipe and it completely wiped the device (eg a full restore).
     

Share This Page