Remote?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by TXCraig, Jun 27, 2008.

  1. TXCraig macrumors 6502a

    TXCraig

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    Does anyone know if you get a Apple Remote Control with that MBA?.. the website does not show that its included! Does this mean that front row does not work on the MBA?

    What’s in the box

    MacBook Air
    Micro-DVI to DVI adapter
    Micro-DVI to VGA adapter
    Cleaning/polishing cloth
    MagSafe power adapter
    Install/restore DVDs
    Printed documentation
     
  2. Scottyk9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Front row is built into Leopard (and can be used with keyboard shortcuts).

    You are correct though, no remote, you have to shell out for that if you want it.
     
  3. iTeen macrumors 65816

    iTeen

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    #3
    You can order one for a additional $19 when you are ordering the MBA.

    Its the same way for every Apple laptop at this point.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. TXCraig thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TXCraig

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #4
    For 1800.00... they need to toss in the 5.00 remote!

    Every other Mac... including the bottom of the line Mini comes with one... yes, I know I can buy one separtly. Does the MBA not have an IR port for the remote? Is that why its not included?
     
  5. iTeen macrumors 65816

    iTeen

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    #5
    Its that way for the MB and the MBP as well.

    And yes it has a IR reciever.

    There is a very good portion of people that never ever use the remote.
     
  6. TXCraig thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TXCraig

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #6
    I was getting ready to tell you that you were wrong... because I have purchased a MPB in March of 06.... and MB in the fall of 07 and they both had remotes. After looking at the website, it seems that is not the case anymore. Ok, I don't feel cheated if they don't include the remote with the other laptops now...

    Although it could not cost more then 3 buck to make one of those and I don't know why Apple decided to stop including it.
     
  7. AstroHouse macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    Morada CA
    #7
    That's how Apple Care advised me to get mine! And it comes with a fine 24" screen in the package, too! :D
     
  8. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #8
    That remote costs them a LOT less then $5, I guarantee you.

    All the Mac's used to come with them, but now many don't.
     
  9. dibara2003 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Location:
    Hawaii!
    #9
    i know it's cheap to produce, but really... how many times have you actually used one? I got a free one and used it all of 2 times and that was just to play with it. I'll admit there are a few who use it a lot, but the common person won't
     
  10. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #10
    My BlackBook 2.4 Penryn and my MBA did not come with a remote. Both purchased Feb '08 and Mar '08 respectively. :eek:
     
  11. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    No remote and why would sit more than an arm stretch away from a 13" screen?

    As with it working, yes it works; my father has a remote, but he doesn't use it.
     
  12. yoavcs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Location:
    Israel
    #12
    Ever use you MBA to give a presentation? Closed-lid operation, hooked up to the projector and you are 10 feet away. Remote comes in mighty handy.
     
  13. James17 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #13
    It doesn't matter if some people don't use it, it's cheap to produce and the price of Apple's computers suggest they should include the remote. After working out the conversion rate, I paid $3,190 for a macbook pro with no remote, a small cheap remote, I personally don't care but it's the principle. Wrong move Apple.
     
  14. TXCraig thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TXCraig

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #14
    That's my point. Why be sneaky and stop including it when you have been doing it in the past. These machines are not low price point machines like a Dell laptop where 3 bucks is a big deal. There is lots of profit margin in these machines and they should be sold with the unit.

    Funny how a 3 dollar remote bothers me but I have to pay extra for DVD drive and it does not....
     
  15. James17 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #15
    I have written a letter to Apple's UK head office and will give an update when I receive correspondence from them.
     
  16. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #16
    I actually don't care much for the remote. I never used it when I had my BlackBook or my MacBook Pro. (Both came with remotes). It was cool at first, playing/navigating movies and tv shows in bed and such, but it got boring afterwards. If i really need the remote, I can use my dad's remote for the iMac which he doesn't use either.
     
  17. James17 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #17
    After them not receiving my letter via post "supposedly" I waited 4 weeks then got in touch with PR who got someone from Executive Relations to take up my case. I am getting the Apple Remote sent out free as a good will gesture as it is not included with them anymore even though I got it with my iMac which was half the price of the macbook pro. I am also getting free earphones as the ones I have with my iPhone are dangerous for example half of it staying in my ear, Applecare refused to replace them.
     
  18. gcmexico macrumors 6502a

    gcmexico

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    #18
    doesn't come with one...but if you have an iphone, you can use that as a remote!:D
     
  19. Molopo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #19
    As many people have already stated, only a small fraction of the mac-bearing population will ever touch their little remotes, and most of them end up lost or thrown away. About 1.5 million remote-less apple laptops were sold so far, meaning around 66.5 tons of plastic saved. If you're going to argue about "principle", I'd suggest you look at the bigger picture.
     
  20. muldul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    West Sussex, England, UK
    #20
    Even my mum's dell Xps comes with a remote (it has a 13.3 inch screen). I do see though that i may not use it much, but you never know
     
  21. RainForRent macrumors 6502

    RainForRent

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    #21
    Good luck with that.
    I understand people being upset. I got a remote with my core duo MBP, and I use it all the time. It's a useful and elegant piece to the puzzle. If you want one though, as I advised my friend who just bought a MBA, head over to Ebay, and pick one up for $10 shipped or so. The remote is nice, but its not for everyone. So be good capitalists and pick up the slack via free trade on ebay!
     
  22. James17 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #22
    I have been using that app on my iPhone but I "was" annoyed at the principle of them not including something that doesn't cost that much to make when considering the price I had just paid for ther MBP.

    Maybe most people don't use but I do and I expect it to be given with such an expensive computer.

    That's exactly my point also, they come with less expensive laptops from other manufacturers.

    If you look at my post today you will see that my case has already been dealt with, maybe you never seen it since you say "Good Luck With That". I am getting an Apple Remote and Earphone sent out free.
     

Share This Page