remotely install OSX/macOS on internal network

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by nadia p., Oct 22, 2016.

  1. nadia p., Oct 22, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2016

    nadia p. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    #1
    I hope someone might be able to help me. I need to perform a fresh install of OSX/macOS on each iMac at home while remotely logging in to my home network. I plan to update each iMac one at a time by remotely logging into iMac_home1 to assist me in installing iMac_home2 and vise versa.

    I'm confused and need some guidance as to the best way to approach this as there seems to be a few ways to go about it yet I can't take the risk of not knowing what I'm doing and getting stuck.

    I'm able to remotely connect to either iMac_home# using VNC or once logged into one of the home computers I can share the screen.

    I want to make sure it's a clean/fresh install yet no one will be there to assist me (i.e. to hold down keys on the keyboard)

    Edit 1: OS X 10.9.5 is the current OS on both iMacs connected via ethernet.
     
  2. Floris macrumors 68020

    Floris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #2
    If you have remote access, perhaps Apple Configurator might be able to help? But yeah, if there's nobody there to actually press buttons .. I dunno how certain things might be able to complete installation when you've lost the remote connection and account setup needs to be done etc.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. nadia p. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    #3
    I was reading about NetBoot, NetInstall and NetRestore and wondered if it's possible to do something like the following...

    1. Update 10.9.5 to 10.10.6
    2. Create an NetBoot image of 10.10.6 and later use that to boot from later
    3. Reboot pointing to NetBoot to allow me to access the hard drive to then erase and partition it and perform a clean install on that.
    4. Reboot iMac_home1 clean install
    5. Remotely share the screen from iMac_home2 to view iMac_home1 and proceed with initial configuration and setup.

    I have no idea if anything like this is possible or can be scripted in some way.
     
  4. Floris macrumors 68020

    Floris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #4
    The problem are the steps where it hasn't connected to anything yet at least not via remote stuff .. and that you have the screens where it asks for the language to use, ask for apple-id, etc.
     
  5. nadia p. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    #5
    Hmm... is there a way to build the install image somewhere else whereby answering all the questions then push it over to each iMac? I've got to believe there is some way to do this as it can be and has been done in Windows for years.
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
  7. nadia p. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    #7
    I have confirmed with Apple that Apple Remote Desktop is not capable of doing this task. OS X Server (macOS Server) is with the information found in http://training.apple.com/pdf/mac_management_basics_10.10.pdf on how to create the proper image that can be pushed to remote computers.

    The details contained within that document explain how to properly setup an unattended installation and deployed through OS X Server (macOS Server).
    --- Post Merged, Oct 24, 2016 ---
    The next challenge will be to determine how to create the proper image. If anyone has some advanced workings with Server and would like to offer some of their expertise I'd be very grateful.
     
  8. Floris macrumors 68020

    Floris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands

Share This Page