Remove Airport Card!?????!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by brobson, May 11, 2007.

  1. brobson macrumors 6502

    brobson

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #1
    I am so sick of my son finding ways to get internet into his room when it is forbidden and he knows it. He keeps finding new servers, etc and now we are finding all kinds of stuff.

    Can I just remove his airport card so he can keep his computer and have no internet? Otherwise it's no more compter in his room.

    I have installed memory so I know how to get inside, etc. Do I just remove the card?
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    It might help us if you told us exactly what machine it is (for example don't just say iMac: there have been lots of designs of these)
     
  3. brobson thread starter macrumors 6502

    brobson

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #3

    Oh sorry, I thought I did. It's a Mac mini
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    The procedure is slightly different depending on whether it's PPC or Intel but you can get take-apart guides from iFixit. Both have removable airport cards, although you might loose bluetooth at the same time?
     
  5. bankshot macrumors 65816

    bankshot

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Southern California
    #5
    You have two options here:

    1. Physically remove the Airport card. There's a guide here: http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Mac/Mac-Mini/AirPort-Extreme-Card/82/11
    2. Disable it in software. The last post here or the solution given here should do it. Both are doing essentially the same thing. This is probably easier, but it requires that your son does not have an administrator account (or is not clever enough to restore the Airport driver).

    Hope this helps.
     
  6. brobson thread starter macrumors 6502

    brobson

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #6
    It is an intel and I want him to be able to be able to have internet again someday (like college!) so if I just remove it, it won't affect anything else will it?

    Thanks
     
  7. MIDI_EVIL macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Add an administrator's password, and go into system preferences:


    System Preferences> Network> Click connect with Ethernet

    Click lock, so he can't connect with anything other than Ethernet, and he can't alter the settings because you've locked and he needs a password?

    May work??

    It will be a lot less hassle than removing card.

    You all get what I mean...?

    Rich.
     
  8. brobson thread starter macrumors 6502

    brobson

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #8
    I'll try it, he'd never forgive me if I screw it up. Those are the tiniest screws on the face of the earth. A magnetic screwdriver is needed really.
    THanks, I'll report back tomorrow
     
  9. Angrist macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    MI or NJ
    #9
    How old is your son?

    If he's old enough to have a computer, and old enough to work around some of your security blocks .... then maybe he's old enough to have an honest discussion about what's going on.

    In my experience ... I wouldn't putz with hardware when there is a software solution. Try the advice above for disabling the Airport card, then there's 0% chance of you breaking the hardware or misplacing a screw. You can always step it up another notch and go the hardware route later.

    Alternatively ... what is you router setup? There may be a way to block access at the modem/router.
     
  10. brobson thread starter macrumors 6502

    brobson

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #10
    He's 15 and extremely clever. I am one step away from ending internet but I need it for my work. I have time warner cable and the cheapy router they sell. It is in his room unfortunately. DLink is the router and RCA is on the other one.

    Changing the setup to ethernet didn't work at all, it just went right back to airport. Turning airport on and off is easy for him.

    I really cannot understand the previous instructions. I don't know how to type in a command code.
     
  11. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #11
    You could also remove just the airport cable. I'm pretty sure it just snaps in place. That way you wouldn't have to remove the card.
     
  12. brobson thread starter macrumors 6502

    brobson

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #12
    How would I do that? Just get inside first?
     
  13. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Yep that'd work. The antenna for the airport signal just plugs into the card. Depending on the card there may be more than one: disconnect them all.

    Of course if your son is as clever as you say he'll open up the case and reconnect them...
     
  14. LoganT macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #14
    Do you just not want your son going to pornographic and violent sites? I'm sure there's an application for OS X that enables you to block different kinds of websites.
     
  15. brobson thread starter macrumors 6502

    brobson

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #15
    IT is too complicated. Through parental controls I have to pre enter every site he CAN visit. Like I know those. It's a constant battle.
    I have turned safari off but he got around it with Windows Media Player and again through Firefox.
     
  16. mustang_dvs macrumors 6502a

    mustang_dvs

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #16
    There may be an easier way to do this: many routers have the ability to provide content filtering and or MAC Address restrictions.

    MAC addresses are the hard-wired ID's of ethernet devices (sort of like serial numbers) -- the mini has two or three MAC addresses (Ethernet/Airport/Bluetooth -- if equipped).

    Depending on your router (if you post the model number here, I'm sure someone can walk you through the set-up), restrictions can be time based. Or, you can simply put the router on a vacation timer (so that the power is off between, say 11pm and 7am).
     
  17. brobson thread starter macrumors 6502

    brobson

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #17
    PLEASE Help!

    I've got it opened and since its an intel it doesn't look like the one on mac fix it.
    Where is the airport card or antennia?:eek:

    Edited later:

    Forget it, none of this has worked. The D-link guy said it wasn't possible.

    I don't think I can reach the airport card w/out major surgery. I did unplug the top part above the spring but it still worked.

    I even threw away the extensions and it still worked, I can't kill the thing!
     
  18. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #18
    The airport card cable is the black cable that wraps under the hard drive and plugs into the card, which is on the logic board. If you get the top off the Mini, slowly lift up the hard drive carriage (which is seated onto the SATA connector) and remove the cable by gently pulling it straight out (sideways).
     
  19. mustang_dvs macrumors 6502a

    mustang_dvs

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #19
    Here's the instructions on getting to the card in an Intel Mini...

    http://www.hardmac.com/articles/74/

    Wouldn't a simpler solution be to remove the mini from your son's room and put it someplace public (dining room) or secure (your bedroom) -- that way, you have absolute say over whether or not he's on the computer and he can't hide whatever it is that he's doing?
     
  20. headhammer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #20
    this might seem really obvious. nonetheless...

    can't you just put a password on the wireless connection (or change it, if there's already one) and just not tell him about it? you can keep using the connection from your computer(s) and he won't be able to join the network.

    do your neighbors have wireless connections that are visible inside his room? if not, this seems like the easiest way around the whole issue.
     
  21. brobson thread starter macrumors 6502

    brobson

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #21
    How do I do that?
    I have a password on his computer through parental controls but he got around it somehow with Windows media player and firefox. You can uncheck Safari for example but Firefox and some others arent even in the drop down menu under System preferences for parental control.
    He can go onto the itunes store and give commentaries to music, so I know that's the internet. He cannot buy anything though.
    I have spyware on the computer so I can see what he does each day but it's not like I don't have my own things to do. We have a computer in the public room but he bought this one with his own money and I really just want to disable it. I lost my nerve though when I had it opened up before, I will try again but if it can be done w/ a password, I'd prefer that of course.
     
  22. Cormier6083 macrumors regular

    Cormier6083

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #22
    Just give him a computer running Windows 95.... that should stop him :D

    Seriously... I think your kid needs to have his computer taken away. Lock him in his room until he vents his anger. Stress the point that you are his ruler and he is nothing more than your slave/servant. :p

    Either that or turn off wireless and plug your computer into your router
     
  23. brobson thread starter macrumors 6502

    brobson

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #23
    So Headhammer, how do I do this?
     
  24. headhammer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #24
    this is a bit of an essay. also, a few more options for securing things occurred to me as i wrote this, so it's a little bit of a shambles, but there are a few options you have here for nailing things down. hope this helps :cool:

    first off, under parental controls, if you check the 'finder' checkbox, you can specify which programs he can or can't open, including and not limited to firefox. check it out.

    also, from within itunes, you can disable the itunes music store and require an admin password to re-activate it. to do this, open itunes, then, under the itunes menu, select "preferences"
    go to the "parental" tab, it's the last on the right.
    you may need to open the padlock by clicking on it to make any changes. you want to check the "disable itunes store" box. then lock the padlock by clicking on it so he can't re-activate it.

    then, i would do these steps on his computer.
    go to the apple menu, and choose "system preferences" go to "security" it's in the top row, near the right.
    check the "require password to unlock each secure system preference" checkbox. (try saying that 10 times fast) this is a handy little setting which will lock down all the system preferences that require your admin password
    lock the padlock, then click "show all" up the top to save the setting.

    to put a password on your wireless connection, you'll actually need to login to the router iteself to configure it. you can do this from any computer that has access to your network, not just his. (personally, i have had that many problems with d-link that i went and bought an airport extreme - my dlink wouldn't let me put a password on it due to a problem with the firmware. the setting was there, but it wouldn't activate :rolleyes: see how you go, you may have more luck than i did)

    to do this, you'll need to log in to your router.
    on your computer (or his, doesn't matter) go to system preferences again.
    select "network" it's in the third row down, second from the left.
    if you have a list of connections there (such as airport, ethernet etc), double click on airport.
    if you don't have a list, under the "show" dropdown menu at the top, select "airport"
    click on the "tcp/ip" tab. (at this point, if you really want to mess things up in a totally recoverable way, change the "Configure IPv4" dropdown menu to "manually", leave the settings empty or with "0.0.0.0", and then lock the padlock. do this on his computer. dhcp, which is probably what it was previously using, is a technology where the computer will detect the network settings for the network that it's connected to. if you manually set it to "0.0.0.0", the computer effectively can't join any networks, wired or wireless. when you decide that he can have his internet back, change it back to dhcp, and it'll be able to find the networks again ;) this solution just occurred to me as i was writing this)
    if you still want to go ahead and put a password on the network, take note of the numbers in the "router" field.
    open up safari, or any web browser, and type the numbers in, including the "."s. no www, just exactly as it appears in the "router" field.
    you may get a popup box asking for a username and password, or you may get a login page. regardless, dlink use the username "admin" and password either blank or "admin" depending on the model. you can change the username and password down the track if you want.
    this is where it gets tricky. dlink have changed the configuration for their routers that many times that i can't tell you where to look to secure the network. on mine, it was under a setting called "wireless"
    you're looking for something called "security", that will have options "WEP" and "WPA". i'm not a network techie, so i can't tell you the difference technically, but one of them requires a password of a specific length (often 8 or 16 characters) in hexadecimal (that just means that the only characters you can use are "a" through the "f" and "0" through to "9"). this one is a pain to configure and for obvious reasons, it's really hard to remember the password. it's more secure, but unless you're the cia, you're probably not going to need to use this option.
    the other one will allow you to use an actual password that you choose. any characters, any length. i would recommend this option.
    i'm sorry, but i can't remember which is which.
    the other technicality of the dlink routers, is that you need to find the button to "save settings and restart router" or something similar, in order for the password to take effect.it may be at the bottom of every page, it may under a specific "settings" page. find this, and click it, then wait for your router to reboot. if it's worked, you'll then need to reconnect using airport and put in your password to join the network.
    if, for whatever reason, you can't get back onto the wireless network after doing this, you can just hook up a direct connection with the router using network cable, and connect to the router and change the settings again.

    hope this is what you need, let me know how you go :D
     
  25. brobson thread starter macrumors 6502

    brobson

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #25
    Thank You!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Scrambling worked, thanks so much. We will have peace at home now.
    Really do appreciate it !!!
    B







     

Share This Page