Remove forced country line in contacts?

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by benmrii, Jun 25, 2011.

  1. benmrii macrumors 65816

    benmrii

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    FL
    #1
    Has anyone come across a way to remove the forced "Country" line in the iPad (and iPhone) address book? First we're force formatted into the antiquated (XXX) XXX-XXXX phone format, now it seems we're forced into adding another line to addresses that for many of us is unnecessary the vast majority of the time. I'm hoping there is a workaround.

    Even when editing the addresses, or entering them initially, via the web-interface of MobileMe without any data in the Country field, the iPad (and iPhone) adds it.

    To clarify, I am not asking how to change the country that is auto-populated (which for those needing to do this can be altered by going to Settings -> General -> International -> Region Format). I am asking how to remove any data from appearing in this line unless I specify a country. Thank you.
     
  2. Ashwood11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #2
    What is antiquated about the phone format? I receive dozens of unwanted phone calls because the caller fails to include the area code and they reach personal phone instead of the commercial number they want. If they used this format it would save me time and money. Being I have a cell phone I pay for all of these calls.

    In regards to the country issue, I tried swipping the field In the Contacts app to see if it would give a delete button and instead it gives a scrolling list of counties but no selection for leaving it blank. I did not know you could access this list in this way.
     
  3. benmrii thread starter macrumors 65816

    benmrii

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    FL
    #3
    Having the area code isn't antiquated, but forcing the format of the phone number so that the area code is in parenthesis vs. 212.555.1234 or 212-555-1234 has been ever since ten-digit dialing.

    Same. No options in Settings. I don't hold out much hope.
     
  4. elolaugesen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    #4
    Country forced

    I live in the UK now and have addresses from Canada, Denmark, united kingdom and other places. They are now all from united kingdom..... Come on apple change this to make default blank unless we ask for a specific code.

    That is like forcing salutation for names.
     
  5. Monora macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #5
    Contacts country settings

    Just double tap the country you wish to be your default
     
  6. benmrii thread starter macrumors 65816

    benmrii

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    FL
    #6
    Until one of those options is "Leave space blank" it remains an unnecessary address line that Apple has decided is better for all of us and therefore requires, much like the antiquated forced format for phone numbers without an option to change.
     
  7. Resist macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #7
    I've been searching for a solution to this as well. All my contacts are in the United States, so I don't need my contact listing this.

    I discovered a round about way to fix this. I delete the country on my Macbook Pro's contact list and then a double address shows up via iCloud on my iPhone, so I delete the first address. Then the country will show up again on my computer's contact list. I have to delete it once more and then it also deletes in my iPhone contact list.

    Apple really needs to let us decide if we want a country line on our contacts via our iPhone.
     
  8. Chuck2332 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2018
    #8
    --- Post Merged, Jan 24, 2018 ---
    I have been able to edit country in my contacts on my MacBook and then it drops it off in my Iphone contacts
     
  9. dwfaust macrumors 601

    dwfaust

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #9
    Resurrecting a 5 ½ year old thread... and that's not even a record.

    I'm sure the OP has moved on... he hasn't been here in well over 2 years.
     
  10. jetlag11 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    #10
    This may be a 6+ year old thread but it's still a problem. iOS 12 - still can't add a contact without a country field. There are really two populations, people with international contacts and people with no (or just a few) other-country-contacts. The first group always needs the country field; the latter, hardly ever. It is a mystery why Apple, normally so concerned with design elegance, is so sloppy in the contacts app.
     
  11. benmrii thread starter macrumors 65816

    benmrii

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    FL
    #11
    Sadly that has been the trend over the years since this I posted this, and well beyond contacts.
     
  12. mofunk macrumors 68020

    mofunk

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Americas
    #12
    If you travel outside your state or area you will need the 10 digit number. I've seen people who just have the 7 digit number in their phones, have to enter a area code every time they're outside the city and/or state. Your carrier would respond with "the number you are trying to reach is not available" lol I wouldn't want to have that option omitted cause you never know.

    Usually I will enter the name first in my Contacts, next the phone number the way it is in the region and then address. If its US I start with the area code, if its the UK I start with the +1 which will generate a different sequence.

    I can add fields without adding a Country. Some people may like that field. Remember iTunes and Contacts are treated like a Database. Contacts works seamlessly with Pages. So if you are creating mass mailing, you can add each Data field to your letter, mailing, etc. So much better than MS Office.
     
  13. benmrii thread starter macrumors 65816

    benmrii

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    FL
    #13
    It hardly matters at this point, especially since the same point was already clarified, but if you look again the point is not that 10 digit is forced, but that its format is. In a time when 10 digit phone numbers are essentially necessary, even locally in many populous areas, Apple forcing the use of an antiquated format is frustrating. That was true 2,760 days ago when I posted this, and is even more so today.
     

Share This Page