Remove Hard Drive From LaCie d2 Quadra

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by futurevibe, Nov 15, 2010.

  1. futurevibe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    Sorry if i posted this in the wrong section. I have a LaCie d2 Quadra 500GB hard drive that has a broken power brick (for the second time) and i'm wondering if it's possible to take out the hard drive and install it in a Mac Pro (2010, 8 Core, 2.4GHx)?

    Thanks.
     
  2. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #2
    Have you asked LaCie if they will exchange the power supply under warranty? They should have a 3-year limited warranty.
     
  3. Gordy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #3
    It is possible and very easy. Just a couple of screws from memory.

    They are standard sata drives inside.

    I upgraded my 500gb one to 1.5tb a while back hence why I know the above. :)
     
  4. futurevibe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #4
    Remove Hard Drive From LaCie d2 Quadra

    @ DanielCoffey.
    I bought it in October 2007 so my warranty is up. I don't think i'd bother buying a new power supply. There was obviously a problem with them because the current LaCie drives use a different power supply.

    @ Gordy.
    That good to hear. So i don't need to buy any extra parts? It will just slot straight into the Mac Pro, yes?

    Thanks.
     
  5. gnychis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #5
    sure, you can take it out and use it. I took an old lacie drive out once
     
  6. futurevibe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

Share This Page