Remove menu bar from second monitor?

sgarrand

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 3, 2008
11
0
When I go full screen on my second monitor the menu bar is always present. I'm watching MLB.tv in full screen but that darn menu bar is still there. Any ideas on how to remove it or auto hide it? Thanks.

Edit: Okay, Safari will show full screen video without the menu bar, Chrome Canary will not. The question remains though, I'd love to not show a menu bar on the second monitor.

Scott
 
Last edited:

hobbyrennfahrer

macrumors 6502
Aug 27, 2010
263
1
Any fix for this?
How they can be so stupid and let the menu bar on the second screen always on top of everything? :mad::mad::mad:
 

mikecwest

macrumors 65816
Jul 7, 2013
1,015
368
That "bug" is absolutely hilarious. Beta or not.
Thats not a bug, its a new feature. In my opinion, a very welcome one. It goes away for me if I select Full Screen from the menubar... Its a pain in the rear if you are using two displays to have to move the cursor 27 inches to the left (Thundebolt display), then 15 more inches to the left (laptop screen) to reach the File Menu.

I can not even imagine the frustration of someone using three thunderbolt displays on a mac pro, and NOT having easy menu bar access.
 

Kinsella

macrumors newbie
Jan 18, 2011
15
0
Thats not a bug, its a new feature. In my opinion, a very welcome one. It goes away for me if I select Full Screen from the menubar... Its a pain in the rear if you are using two displays to have to move the cursor 27 inches to the left (Thundebolt display), then 15 more inches to the left (laptop screen) to reach the File Menu.

I can not even imagine the frustration of someone using three thunderbolt displays on a mac pro, and NOT having easy menu bar access.
I fully agree. Having to move the cursor from my external monitor to the laptop screen to access the menu bar is quite annoying, and I'm looking forward to having the menu bar available on all screens.
 

mikecwest

macrumors 65816
Jul 7, 2013
1,015
368
I fully agree. Having to move the cursor from my external monitor to the laptop screen to access the menu bar is quite annoying, and I'm looking forward to having the menu bar available on all screens.
I think it would also be nice to give users a choice, a simple check box in the displays preference panel would be nice.
 

DiscardedPacket

macrumors member
Mar 8, 2013
91
1
I did a powerpoint presentation recently and the menu bar was visible on the projector when powerpoint was presenting.

pretty annoying. But - "its beta".
 

jhfenton

macrumors 65816
Dec 11, 2012
1,064
623
Cincinnati, Ohio
It won't be a problem eventually. The menu bar on secondary monitors can be hidden by aware programs. It just has to be programmed for. Give developers time to get their programs updated for Mavericks.
 

rayhigh

macrumors member
Mar 27, 2012
89
0
Running programs in fullscreen on the secondary monitor hides it for me, at least with the program that I tried it with, VLC. I did have to reenable the 'use native Lion fullscreen mode" checkbox in VLC.
 

Packdude

macrumors member
Apr 16, 2010
60
214
In VMware Fusion 5, the View is set to Full Screen, Hide Menu Bar in full screen is checked as well. I've used MenuEverywhere for a long time, so I'm used to having a menu bar on the second display. However, it was set to 'auto hide' when I wasn't using it. I'm hoping that they fix this when the OS is officially released.
 

3282868

macrumors 603
Jan 8, 2009
5,281
0
Thats not a bug, its a new feature. In my opinion, a very welcome one. It goes away for me if I select Full Screen from the menubar... Its a pain in the rear if you are using two displays to have to move the cursor 27 inches to the left (Thundebolt display), then 15 more inches to the left (laptop screen) to reach the File Menu.

I can not even imagine the frustration of someone using three thunderbolt displays on a mac pro, and NOT having easy menu bar access.
You found him! 3 27" Cinema Displays on my 12-Core 5,1. It's fun! :)

In all seriousness, welcome the new support. No need for "SecondBar" (which only supported an extra display). The "Dock" needs tweaking, it's sometimes touchy appearing on secondary displays. Add options in "System Preferences" to turn on/off additional MenuBars, custom transparency for each MenuBar, "Dock" appearance (bottom for main, left for left display, right for right, so forth). File "UI" bugs, the more filed the better the odds.

One "bug" I've had since 10.5 is the **** color. Why silver with tiny little indicators?! Until 10.8, the first thing I'd do was replace the dock png's with glossy or jet black. Much easier to see what's running, etc. Now it's "adaptive."
 

varyform

macrumors newbie
Oct 5, 2013
2
0
The "solution" to this issue is to uncheck "Displays have separate Spaces" under System Preferences -> Mission Control.
 

jhfenton

macrumors 65816
Dec 11, 2012
1,064
623
Cincinnati, Ohio
Running programs in fullscreen on the secondary monitor hides it for me, at least with the program that I tried it with, VLC. I did have to reenable the 'use native Lion fullscreen mode" checkbox in VLC.
Yes. The problems is with programs that don't use the native fullscreen mode. If they manage fullscreen themselves, they don't know to hide the menubar on a secondary display because in the past there wasn't a menu bar on secondary displays. And a lot of programs did manage fullscreen themselves because Mountain Lion fullscreen mode was terrible (with linen on all the other displays).

This problem will go away in well-behaved programs once they're updated to hide the menu bar on secondary displays or to use the now-more-useful native Mavericks fullscreen mode.

The "solution" to this issue is to uncheck "Displays have separate Spaces" under System Preferences -> Mission Control.
Of course, then you lose the Mavericks improvements in handling multiple displays. :)

John
 

ima747

macrumors newbie
Sep 17, 2012
29
0
The "solution" to this issue is to uncheck "Displays have separate Spaces" under System Preferences -> Mission Control.
Thank you for this! was driving me crazy.

The new system is going to be a god send for some users, but for people like my with a very specific work flow it would absolutely destroy my productivity.

And regarding how far you have to move a cursor, I have 3x27" wqhd screens and a 21", the reason I need so much space is so I can organize lots of things at once, since I'm organizing it all I put things that need the menu bar (which is actually rare, especially if you ever use keyboard shortcuts...) near the menu bar, and other stuff (finder windows for example) very far away from the menu bar. If you find you're going from one extreme to a menu bar on a regular basis your work flow is probably not very streamlined (mouse time is not typically as productive as keyboard time, depends on what you're doing of course). Just my 2c. I don't begrudge anyone the new system, I can see how it might be amazing, but not for me so I'm SO happy they didn't forget a check box to turn it OFF (i.e. the reason I skipped Lion entirely, you couldn't turn off most of the new stuff that caused me problems in my work flow until Mountain Lion.)
 

allan53

macrumors member
Jul 22, 2002
86
5
New Hampshire
The "solution" to this issue is to uncheck "Displays have separate Spaces" under System Preferences -> Mission Control.
That doesn't help me. I use PS. I have the images on the left monitor and all my tools on the right monitor. The menu bar is on the left monitor so I have to move mouse from checking a tool on the right monitor all the way across to the menubar on the left monitor.
 

Effilly

macrumors newbie
Oct 25, 2013
1
0
Make it an option

Thats not a bug, its a new feature. In my opinion, a very welcome one. It goes away for me if I select Full Screen from the menubar... Its a pain in the rear if you are using two displays to have to move the cursor 27 inches to the left (Thundebolt display), then 15 more inches to the left (laptop screen) to reach the File Menu.

I can not even imagine the frustration of someone using three thunderbolt displays on a mac pro, and NOT having easy menu bar access.
I, and I only can decide in what way I prefer the set-up of my monitors.
So this "option" should stay an option. Not something I can't get around.
 

jfrye

macrumors newbie
Oct 25, 2013
2
0
Wish I had known about this 'improvement' before upgrading my OS. I use an iMac at a church with multiple big screen displays on stage and the toolbar is showing at the top of all of them. I do not have time to wait until program developers fix this, if they ever do.
 

jfrye

macrumors newbie
Oct 25, 2013
2
0
Found a fix

I came across this for my ProPresenter program which seems like it should address all the other known issues with it now:

"If you have already downloaded Mavericks and are having issues with your output not going to the correct screen or your menu bar appearing over your output, open Apple System Preferences, select Mission Control, and uncheck "Displays Have Separate Spaces". You will need to logout for the change to take effect. This resolves all currently known issues with ProPresenter 5 in Mavericks."

This is from:
http://forums.renewedvision.com/sho...10-9-(Mavericks)-Information-and-Known-Issues

I have not tested this yet myself though.
 

DOWNSIDEUP

Suspended
May 28, 2011
13
0
When I fullscreen an app on my secondary display, the menu bar hides, but menu bar background remains and the app doesn't really stretch fullscreen.

To fix this, quit the app completely and reopen it from your secondary display. Then everything should be fine.

Just thought I'd share.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.