remove RAM,now MBP dont start

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Twe Foju, May 7, 2008.

  1. Twe Foju macrumors 6502

    Twe Foju

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    Jakarta
    #1
    help, ive done something bad here, so earlier as i post here, i was having this problem with MBP where everytime i restart, the indicator light flashes 3x and i had to restart it a couple of times to get my MBP work

    so i thought i should remove my RAM and replace it again, you know, who knows its loose or what

    so i did remove both of the RAM, and boom, when i put it back on and try to turn on my MBP, nothing, only with the indicator flash blinking with black screen, usually it will at least take me to the white screeen and then the indicator light blinks, but after i remove the RAM, now it wont even start

    helppp!! i feel like ive done something really bad here :(
     
  2. Mashiach macrumors regular

    Mashiach

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    In a House Near the Sea
    #2
    Do you mean you have actually removed your RAM and not put it back in at all and tried to start your MBP.
     
  3. Twe Foju thread starter macrumors 6502

    Twe Foju

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    Jakarta
    #3
    nope, i took off the ram and put it in again

    and it even get worse

    or wait... do i have to reset GPU or VRAM thingy usually when you remove your RAM? or you usually dont have to and my RAM is basically damaged?
     
  4. Mashiach macrumors regular

    Mashiach

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    In a House Near the Sea
    #4
    Well when i have replaced RAM before I have never done a reset.
    It looks like you have dodgy Ram connectors or your Logic Board might be on the way out (needs replacing). Are you sure the RAM is firmly in its slots.
     
  5. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #5
    You don't usually, but you should just to make sure. If you are still having problems, I'd see if you could find an Apple specialist to physically check the system. Have you tried booting off of a CD/DVD? If it works, it may not be the RAM.

    TEG
     
  6. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #6
    if you could find a known working stick of RAM i'd try it. The RAM might just be bad (original problem of 3 flashes leads to RAM).

    But take it into a specialist nevertheless.
     
  7. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #7
    I had the same problem with my MBP and Apple replaced the logicboard.
     
  8. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #9
    That MBP should be under warranty. Not sure whether there is apple certified repair around where you are but you might want to check it out.

    You probably didn't seat the ram properly. You also want to try 1 ram module, put it in slot a, try to start, put in in slot b, try to start. Then the second ram module, put it in slot a, try to start, put in in slot b, try to start. (This way to see whether it's a ram problem).
     
  9. Twe Foju thread starter macrumors 6502

    Twe Foju

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    Jakarta
    #10
    it is under warranty, and its not even 5 months yet, yes, i think its the RAM, because there is no way its the MBP itself, as i never move it a single inch from my table and its indeed greatly protected by me, haha

    so does RAM goes bad by it self? i mean its still a freaking new machine, and i never even open the battery to see the RAM until this problem appears

    anyway, i will be taking it to the Apple care center but i dont expect a RAM replace tho as im using 3rd party RAM

    but i doubt its my MBP, if it is im screwed :(
     
  10. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #11
    Have you tried one RAM chip at a time? Do you still have the original RAM to try?

    Even if it is the MBP, you shouldn't be screwed. It's still under warranty and Apple will repair it if necessary.
     

Share This Page