Remove sensor dust in post

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by zalle, May 1, 2019.

  1. zalle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #1
    Hi guys, I made some footage with a camera with a dirty sensor. No way around it, it's done!

    Now, I'm looking for a way to remove the dust in post using FCPX, but it's not easy to find information on that.

    I found a couple of good videos showing how to do it in Premiere Pro, but I don't have it. My main issue is that FCPX does not have Dust & Scratches like PP, so I can't use this process...

    You basically create a duplicate layer, on the top layer you remove the spots with luma keyer and then the bottom layer (with dust and scratches) fills in the holes.

    Any way I can apply this Dust & Scratches filter in FCPX? OR do you know of a better method to remove sensor dust (and a couple of hairs)?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #2
    How much dust? I've seen a couple instructional videos showing how to remove unwanted moving objects using masks and layers and key frames. It should be similar for dust or other defects. If I recall correctly, you basically create two layers with one offset a bit. Then construct a mask on the top area with holes where the dust particle(s) you want to suppress are. So the slightly offset layer below is seen through the holes where the dust was.
     
  3. zalle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #3
    Well, that is basically the idea, but offsetting the lower layer is not a good option. Smudging it with some effect is better, but I can't find any effect in FCPX that is suitable.

    I tried with Premiere Pro in another computer and it works, but it takes soooo looong to export... 20 minutes for 1.5min of video :(
     
  4. joema2 macrumors 68000

    joema2

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    #4
  5. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #5
    Do you mean a blur effect? I use a third party plug in that will blur a specific point to a variable radius. I use it often on my older machine to blur out a section of video, great for a dust spec at the same spot in each frame.
     
  6. kohlson macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #6
    Still (tripod) shot? Or moving?
    I've used the color correction capabilities to remove dust on a still (or nearly so - keyframes) background. Just try different correction controls, in conjunction with a mask and feathering. I sometimes use 3-4 layers of effects.

    Or, double up the clip shift the top one, and use a mask to have it the other layer show through.

    In any event, expect this to take some work.
     
  7. sevoneone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #7
  8. zalle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #8

    Hello,

    I use Neat Video (previous version), and I wrote to them asking if the new version would help.

    This is the answer:

    "> Hello,Does neat video 4 clean dirty sensor noise? like dust and
    > hairs?

    No, such kind of problems are not treated by Neat Video.

    Best regards,
    Vlad

    Support, Neat Video team, ABSoft"
     

Share This Page

7 May 1, 2019