*removed*

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rjheys, Apr 24, 2009.

  1. rjheys, Apr 24, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2017
  2. rjheys, Apr 24, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2017

    rjheys thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    Why are you using the keyboard when the mouse can select them perfectly fine?
     
  4. rjheys, Apr 24, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2017

    rjheys thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
  5. Plutonius macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
  6. rjheys, Apr 24, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2017

    rjheys thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
  7. gesundheit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    #7
    The Apple keyboard that shipped with my '09 Mac Pro worked fine during my XP install yesterday.
     
  8. rjheys, Apr 24, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2017

    rjheys thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
  9. wedgehammer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #9
    i used an apple wired keyboard that came with an old imac and it worked fine, no problems here installing windows xp pro sp2... now using my old apple wireless keyboard
     
  10. tamvly macrumors 6502a

    tamvly

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #10
    This is also a problem on the octo 2.8.

    I tried multiple times to load 32 bit XP into a boot camp partition. On each occasion the when asked for info the keyboard fails to be recognized.

    Eventually, I'll call Apple Support and seek an answer (when I have several hours to waste).
     
  11. Roy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    #11
    You think they might tell you that's a Windows problem and that they don't support Windows?
     
  12. Illicit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Waterloo, ON
    #12
    Similar situation when I shut down incorrectly and I got a "Disc checking for errors...Press any key to cancel" message upon restarting in Windows.
    I couldn't press any key, nothing would register and I'd have to sit through the whole disc checking process.

    Don't know exactly what fixed it, but after reinstalling Leopard and Windows (using a new copy downloaded from the M$DS site), that problem resolved itself. Keyboard became detectable before Windows was loaded.
     
  13. dvince2 macrumors 6502

    dvince2

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    Do you have another keyboard to try it with? Stupid question, but you are using a wired one right?
     
  14. NightSailor macrumors 6502

    NightSailor

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #14
    Wait two weeks and the problem will go away...

    If you wait a couple weeks you will find you no longer have any need for Windoze. If you put it on, you will find you don't use it IMHO.
     
  15. tamvly macrumors 6502a

    tamvly

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #15
    Possible, I suppose. But Apple sells VMWare, so there's at least one reason to hope.

    Besides, I have a large iTunes collection and will enjoy listening to my favorite tunes while on hold ...
     
  16. tamvly macrumors 6502a

    tamvly

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #16
    Yes, of course. Tried both an older wired keyboard from my G5 and the stock keyboard right out of the box of the MacPro. No joy.
     
  17. Frozengeek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Fairbanks, Ak
    #17
    I don't know about the keyboard, but don't forget: If your partition size is over 32gb, you'll need to reformat the partition (in the Windows installer) as NTFS.
     
  18. Dragonforce macrumors 6502a

    Dragonforce

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    London (Ealing) UK
    #18
    What I posted in another thread earlier:

    Solution (need a working windows installation or a windows-pc):

    0 - create 3 folders c:\windows64iso c:\windows64exe c:\windows64dvd
    1 - download this .exe file and put into c:\windows64exe
    2 - put .iso you downloaded from ms (or an .iso you created from your retail windows disc) into c:\windows64iso and unzip it
    3 - move .iso file out of c:\windows64iso and trash / delete it (won't need it anymore)
    4 - open a dos prompt in c:\windows64exe and type:

    oscdimg -n -m -bc:\windows64iso\boot\etfsboot.com c:\windows64iso c:\windows64dvd\windows64dvd.iso

    The windows64dvd.iso is the file you gonna burn onto a new DVD

    Enjoy !

    -----------------

    Also see
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=676985

    This was for 64bit Windows, but will work with 32bit as well.
     

Share This Page