Removing iPhone from Find My Phone on MobileMe

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by SiskoKid, Jun 22, 2009.

  1. SiskoKid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #1
    Hey, everyone! Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I can't find the info on Apple's site.

    I didn't think I was buying a new iPhone 3Gs, but I did. So I ended up selling my old iPhone 3G, but not before I had already set it up with my MobileMe account with Find My Phone. Now under Find My Phone, two phones are listed. I don't have the other phone anymore to change settings although I did wipe the phone locally (I didn't wipe it using Find My Phone).

    So how do I remove that phone from the Find My Phone list? If I can't, am I doomed to know the location of my old phone forever? I'm not sure if it'll even track it down to be honest. I sold it to some company, so who knows when it'll actually be sold and to whom.
     
  2. joro macrumors 68020

    joro

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Virginia
    #2
    I believe once you delete your mobile me account from the old phone it should clear it automatically from the me.com website. From my understanding, that’s how you link them together and I would think, logically, you would use the same process in reverse to get rid of the link.
     
  3. UnbornApple macrumors regular

    UnbornApple

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #3
    Yes that is correct. And if you want to keep the mobileme account on the phone all you'd have to do is turn off "find my iPhone" on the settings and accounts.
     
  4. lilvenom macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #4
    nope... i deleted everything from my iPhone, removed the sim card and then jailbreaked it, but it still shows up on my mobileme account (although it does show that it's not able to locate the phone)
     
  5. SiskoKid thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #5
    This is what I'm saying. I wiped my phone and everything, and it still shows up as listed in my me.com Find My Phone area.

    Anyone know how to get rid of it?
     
  6. williamtcforsyt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    #6
    Glad I found this thread....

    I completely destroyed my iPhone 3G so replaced it with a 3GS. the iPhone 3G still appears on the 'Find My iPhone' page. SO what people are suggesting seems a bit flawed if you've had your phone nicked, lost or damaged beyond being able to turn it on

    Perhaps try chatting to the MobileMe team?
     
  7. williamtcforsyt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    #7
    A litle research on the MobileMe support site and I found this...

    "If your iPhone/iPod touch was configured with your MobileMe account, it may still appear when you log in to www.me.com/account, even if you no longer possess the iPhone/iPod touch. Currently, a device is removed from your account page list only after it is successfully wiped. This article will be updated as more information becomes available."
     
  8. Galley macrumors 65816

    Galley

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #8
    I've got the same problem. MobileMe still sees my old iPhone, which has been restored. :confused:
     
  9. williamtcforsyt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    #9
    Maybe what I quoted from the Apple website means that it has to be 'remote wiped' using the 'Find My iPhone option on MobileMe, rather than just using itunes?
     
  10. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #10
    Not true.

    I wiped mine for 2 hours (a gen1) and it is still active on MM.

    No idea on this one, as my phone is wiped and restored to factory settings.

    Hmmm.
     
  11. williamtcforsyt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    #11
    don't shoot the messenger or should I say quotist !
     
  12. bigmassa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #12
    The only way

    I had the same issue..

    Wiped on itunes and it was still on mobileme. The only way I managed to get this sorted was to add the mobileme account back on the old iPhone and then delete it again. Voila, no phone on 'Find My iPhone'.

    Though this is not too good if its the only option.
     
  13. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #13
    Currently, the only way to remove a phone from Find My iPhone is to remote wipe it. If you do not have physical access to the device, you will have to wait until they get it worked out in the back end, but for now the only way to do it is to remote wipe your phone.

    If you have tried this method and it did not work, then try it again. If the second time it does not work, contact MobileMe support. They will tell you to wait.

    Here's an email I got from a MobileMe specialist after having a very lengthy and unsuccessful chat with a support representative:

     
  14. Cinemagic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #14
    The quote from Apple's site is correct. Currently the ONLY way to remove the old phone is to SUCCESSFULLY wipe it. If the phone shows offline, then you cannot successfully wipe it. Clicking wipe on an offline phone does nothing. This is something that Apple will hopefully correct. But for now, the old phone will appear there and you can't get rid of it.
     
  15. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #15
    I'm glad I ran across this. Now I know to wait until Apple can figure a way to prevent this. Of course with mobile me it seems that issues are brought up, Apple recognizes then, but them seems to sit mum about fixing it.

    Al these mobile me features coming out, just don't work like I really believe they should. I mean we're paying $99 a year for this.
     
  16. JimmyLo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #16
    You CAN remove an iPhone from MobileMe......

    I just successfully removed an old iPhone I've since sold. Just click to remotely wipe the phone. I know it will not be successful as I erased the phone when it was in my possession.

    After I clicked in MobileMe to remotely wipe the phone, it gave me the option to remove the device from my list of phones. Now I only have my active devices being tracked.
     
  17. shareef777 macrumors 68020

    shareef777

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #17
    THANK YOU!!! It was so annoying. I was timid to wipe is as it had the same name as my replacement iPhone. But everything worked out.
     
  18. vaelenn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #18
    Got it!

    Here's what I did,
    First I used the remote wipe option on the old phone. Then waited about 5 minutes. Of course nothing happened on my screen but still... I deleted the app from my NEW iPhone. Then I reinstalled the app from the App store and voilá! No more old phone. Hope this helps.
     
  19. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #19
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    You don't need to pick remote wipe no more the option to remove the device from the list now exists!
     
  20. helplease macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #20
    how to add back removed device in find my iphone?

    my iphone was stolen a few days ago & ive been trying to locate it since then & it finally showed up earlier. but i must have accidentally clicked remove device cz now it says no registered devices. i read in apple's site that the device will automatically be added the next time the device goes online as long as my mobile.me account is still configured in the device. will that really be automatic or will it still prompt for a password? Im still hoping that it will appear again, are there other ways i can add it back?

    please help! thanks in advance!
     
  21. juicyness, Aug 28, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011

    juicyness macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    #21
    I really need an answer to this as well... literally did the exact same thing :(
    I really hope that this is true because I'm pretty much screwed otherwise..

    ETA: I also changed my password for my itunes/mobileme account ... will that be a problem because the password won't be updated on my phone..
     
  22. hs70541n macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    #22
    Accidentally removed device from Mobileme online & i can't locate my lost phone now!!

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I HAVE EXACT SIMILAR SITUATION!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    My iphone 4s was stolen a few days ago. I've been trying to locate it and it finally showed up earlier. but i accidentally clicked remove device cuz now it says no registered devices. i read in apple's site that the device will automatically be added the next time the device goes online as long as my mobile.me account is still configured in the device.
    But how can the phone automatically connect to the internet if I have a passcode lock on it and whoever stole it cannot access it?
    Is there any other way i can add it back?
     
  23. hd100th03fatboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #23
    Remove iPhone From find my iphone

    All you have to do is swipe to the right on your current divide that your using. if you got a new iPhone go to your old iPhone and swipe your finger to the right, then it will bring up a delete button, hit delete and presto, your old device is gone.
     

Share This Page