Removing Leopard & Installing Vista

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MrSquibbles, Mar 18, 2008.

  1. MrSquibbles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #1
    Hello.

    Just out of curiosity, is it easy to remove Leopard & install Vista? How would I go about doing this?

    I'm disappointed with the amount of games available for Leopard, and one specific game I need to work perfectly (doesn't with Parallels or Fusion).

    Also, is it easy to get Leopard back? Will this void my warranty (removing Leopard and installing Vista)?

    I just purchased a Mac, so I'm not really familiar with any of this.

    Also.. Core 2 Duo = 64 bit, right? So I should get the 64-bit version of Vista? Or does Vista still have issues w/ 64-bit (OWAIT IT HAS ISSUES ANYWAY).

    Thanks,
    Joseph
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Why would you go about doing this?

    It's not easy to get back. And your warranty's void just by thinking about this.

    Give Leopard a try. Run Vista in Boot Camp if you feel the need to hang on to that heap. You'll eventually delete your partition unless you depend on it for games.
     
  3. MrSquibbles thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #3
    Like I said in the original post, games.

    If the warranty is void, forget it, I won't do it then. The whole reason I bought a Mac was so everything would work (I come from Linux).

    The only problem with dualbooting/Boot Camp is that I end up spending more time on the other OS than on Leopard (because of the Games). I then feel "not good" regarding Leopard. I do like Leopard, though (as a matter of fact, I love it). iWeb is the greatest thing since sliced bread.
     
  4. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #4
    Im not saying the OP should do this,but wouldn't it just be a case of leaving
    just enough space for OS X to function and partition the rest for Vista using
    bootcamp.EASY
     
  5. MrSquibbles thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #5
    From what I've seen using boot camp, can't you just hold C at startup, then when the DVD boots delete all the partitions and use the free space for Vista?

    Wouldn't it just be as simple to install Leopard after Vista. o.o

    It doesn't matter, I'm not going to attempt this, anyway. I don't want to void my warranty.

    Thanks,
    Jo
     
  6. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #6
    I dont know about that but ive read a couple of posts awhile back about this
    and the reply's were you should leave a small partition with OS X on it,as
    you need this for updates etc. Just do like i said leave a small partition for
    OS X and partition the rest for Vista
     
  7. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #7
    Erasing OSX from your computer will not void the warranty, but it will make it impossible to update the machine using Software Update. Leave a small OSX partition and use the rest for BootCamp. If gaming is that important to you you should buy a console or a PC, but BootCamp is the best way to do what you want.
     
  8. MrSquibbles thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #8
    I have a PS3.

    The sad part is all my games (5+) are for the PC. And, unfortunately, my Leopard partition is using up 20-30 gigs and I only have an 80 gig HD.
     
  9. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #9
    Re-install Leopard and remove anything that won't be needed, such as languages, printer drivers, applications, etc. You can get Leopard pretty skinny by doing that.
     
  10. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #10
    As scarlet fever just stated you can slim down OS X alot by stuff you dont need ie printer drivers,
    you can also try Xslimmer
     
  11. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #11
    your warranty will remain no problem, but i was under the impression you HAD to keep an os x partition on the drive regardless as os x boots of EFI not a tradition BIOS as windows does. I don't believe vista can boot purely off EFI

    and as someone else already said, you won't be able to update any kind of firmware on the machine.

    use boot camp, select the window partition as your default boot disk. that way when you turn on the computer vista will boot without touching anything. if you want to boot into os x, hold down the option button and select os x but vista will always boot by default.
     
  12. kuwisdelu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
  13. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #13
    So you bought this to use as a game console? Sell it and buy a XBox.
     
  14. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    Bootcamp has nothing to do with how a mac boots. (Well except for giving you an interface in OSX to tell the EFI which disk you'd like to boot from).

    All Intel Macs have a special virtual bios layer on top of the EFI firmware. When your Mac boots, the EFI firmware (not bootcamp) lets you choose which system you want to boot. When you boot to windows it can see a bios.

    You do not need OSX (and definately not bootcamp) on your machine to boot it to windows. You do need OSX to install firmware updates though.

    Installing just windows on your machine does not void your warranty.
     
  15. MascisMan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #15
    Then why are you wanting to "remove" Leopard as stated in the original post?

    You want to remove Leopard and install Vista for games, then you like Leopard and would feel bad for abandoning it for Vista, then you are not willing to use Boot Camp to have both Vista and Leopard.

    Im not sure what to say. :(

    I guess my advice would be to sell your new Mac, buy a PC for gaming use and a MacMini for Leopard use?
     
  16. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #16
    Not true. All you have to do is insert the leopard disk, wipe windows, reinstall OS X. it'll take about 10 minutes plus an hour or so to install Leopard. I can't see how running a certain software can void a hardware warranty (although if you don't have leopard on at all and something happens Apple can not help you troubleshoot and then you're left on your own.. but certainly not void the warranty.)

    Best bet is to user bootcamp to install Windows and leave a small (<10gig) slice for OS X.. it's just easier that way.

    Also, why on earth would you want to use the machine for gaming? It's got integrated graphics and a gig of ram! If you wanted a gaming machine, return the mini, wire me $500 and I'll make you a machine that runs circles around the mini!
     
  17. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #17

    ahhh that makes sense, for some reason i thought that was brought on via bootcamp, my apologies. thank you for clearing that up
     
  18. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

    jonbravo77

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #18


    I'm going to have to agree with this. Should have just bought a pc.
     
  19. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #19
    Sell your mac and buy a PC. It will be cheaper and easier.
     
  20. sylvia9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    #20
    Removing Leopard and going back to Tiger

    I have a mac OSX with Leopard and Parallels. I use XP to access the Multiple listing services in two states. Since I installed leopard every time I x out of a screen the internet closes down the site. When I had tiger I didn't have these problems. The techs at Apple support suggested that I back up my computer to another computer using a firewire, delete everything off my computer than use the original disks the computer came with to re-load Tiger. Is there an easier way to fix the problem I have with Leopard. HELP!!!
     

Share This Page