Removing onboard RAM on MB air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Mobius 1, May 12, 2011.

  1. Mobius 1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #1
    Is it possible?

    I don't want to pay apple 100$ for a 2x2GB chip i can buy for 45$.


    Will take the risk and i'm pretty okay at soldering computers.

    O and i need resoldering the new RAM


    Thx
     
  2. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #2
    They don't use standard RAM modules on the MacBook Air, the RAM chips are soldered directly onto the board.

    Sorry, but you can't use your $45 RAM modules.
     
  3. iStudentUK, May 12, 2011
    Last edited: May 12, 2011

    iStudentUK macrumors 65816

    iStudentUK

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Really not a good idea.

    Replacing the RAM yourself would be a big challenge, it's soldered to the logic board. Whilst Apple don't void AppleCare when you take the case off I think soldering new pieces on would be unacceptable. So even if you could upgrade the unusual RAM without breaking the MBA you'd void the warranty.

    Pay for the 4GB RAM. You will need it during the lifetime of the MBA.

    EDIT- Just figured out that because Apple use unusual RAM in the Air 4GB would probably cost more than $45 anyway. So on top of being really difficult and voiding the warranty it wouldn't save you money.
     
  4. AAPLaday Guest

    AAPLaday

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #4
    You will risk the machine being damaged and lose Applecare just to save $55?
     
  5. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #5
    I don't think you could do it even if you were an expert.

    The RAM chips are machine soldered on to both sides of the board so if you tried to solder one side, the other side would probably come unsoldered. :)

    RAM chips are in the yellow box...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. torbjoern macrumors 65816

    torbjoern

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    The Black Lodge
    #6
    Well, if your time isn't worthless (since you can justify the efforts by saving $55) then at least you're underestimating the risk involved in this.
     
  7. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #7
    D:

    gonna have to buy a refurb




    MacBook Air

    Y U NO have off board RAM


    i hope the 3rd gen MBA has off-board ram, the price for ram upgrade is a rip-off
     
  8. iStudentUK macrumors 65816

    iStudentUK

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Yeah, I should have put big challenge in bold. The OP would have to hire a team of experts from MIT to work around the clock. Probably brings the total cost to over $100! :D
     
  9. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #9
    lemme guess?


    Over 9000!!!
     
  10. johnhalsted macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    #10
    I don't know why anyone would void their warranty and manually have to order and install ram their self just to save $55
     
  11. mayhone1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #11
    The air is made for people who know what they need, if you are this cheap, no offense, just go with a macbook pro, it uses regular ram that you can easily upgrade. The air is made to be small I doubt apple will change the ram in future macbook air's, because part of this is what makes it so small. :apple:
     
  12. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #12
    Too mainstream


    now i have to find a refurb 13" with 4GB of RAM and 128GB storage
     
  13. mikekey macrumors newbie

    mikekey

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    #13
    I just bought two refurb'd 13inch 4gb with 256gb hdd MacBook Air's straight from Apple's site. It was worth it. Just do it.

    I'm hoping the next refresh will have more memory. Anywhere between 6-8gb of it Makes the MacBook Air a real challenge to most PC based Laptops.
     
  14. Ridley macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #14
    That is why i am SHOCKED that hardware manufacturers are not falling over themselves trying to create a new standard for tiny SSD and tiny RAM. How more clear does Apple have to be to communicate "there is a big market for this but it doesn't exist so i guess we'll have to spend the R&D to create it ourselves".

    Also I am afraid that once the toothpaste is out of the tube its really hard to get back in. I just posted on another thread here that even the primary iMac hard drive is now Apple proprietary and not user replaceable. Yikes!
     
  15. mayhone1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #15
    Yeah I saw that, But I wonder if you can just buy another drive and than have the people at the apple store replace the drive...:apple:
     
  16. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #16
    hdd pin connectorz not customized?
     
  17. mayhone1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #17
    I really wanted to get a new imac too, now I'll probally wait...:apple:
     
  18. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #18
    The Apple store people will not touch hardware that you did not buy from them.
     
  19. AWallen90 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
  20. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #20
    my apple store does :p
     
  21. Patrick946 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    #21
    Apple will totally help with Apple hardware that you bought elsewhere.
     
  22. FuNGi macrumors 65816

    FuNGi

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #22
    I have one. It rocks. I want 480GB of OWC storage though. I'll start saving the $1,500 now :cool:
     
  23. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #23
    Apple hardware yes, but I can't see them being willing to work with 3rd party hardware. Suppose you buy a 3rd party SDD and want them to install it, then something doesn't work - people would blame Apple. If you have Apple hardware, then the techs know how to deal with it.
     

Share This Page