General rename an sbsettings toggle...

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by fisherking, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #1
    anyone know where these are stored? i want to rename a toggle (it's too long a name...!)

    thanx in advance!
     
  2. fisherking thread starter macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #2
    i lack...patience :D
    just found it, var>mobile>library>sbsettings>toggles.

    renamed what i wanted, resprung, and all is well (for now)...
     
  3. iToNe24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #3
    can u explain what u renamed .. i know this post is old but i am looking for answer to same question. I renamed the folder holding the toggle and that did not work .. i sshed into the path and opened the dylib file in a text file and there are many locations of the name to change.

    anyone know the answer?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #4
    I think lacking patience and that you found the answer and finished doing it then updated your thread in 8 minutes. Explains why we like people to search for the answers 1st! Oh and good job! ;)
     
  5. iToNe24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    i am guessing that was towards the thread starter and also assuming that u dont know the answer to the question in this thread.
     
  6. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #6
    Yes old thread, but I have the same question. The do not disturb and personal hotspot toggle names are too long.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Jemrada macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    #7
    Install something like iFile (no need to purchase) the shareware makes it usable for this task.

    Navigate to "var/mobile/library/sbsettings"

    Now navigate in to "Themes" and in to the theme that you are using. Find the folder with the title of the toggle you want to rename. Now rename the folder only.

    Now back out of "Themes" and navigate into "Toggles" and rename the same folder to match the name you change it to in the "Themes" directory.

    After you finish, re-spring and you should be all set.
     
  8. fisherking thread starter macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #8
    made me laugh...i didn't remember starting this thread (not recently)...2010! that's a lifetime ago...
     
  9. Qaanol macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #9
    Thanks Jemrada, this helped me greatly. Several of my SBSettings toggles had been showing with blank icons. Turns out the folder names in the Theme were different from the folder names in the Toggles sections. I made them match, and now the icons appear.
     
  10. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #10
    Yea, kind of blame me. I search and if i find a thread that has the same wording i would have used for a new thread i will just post in that thread. It does bring up some old threads, but hey sometimes it's fun to relive the past :D
     
  11. fisherking thread starter macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #11
    just funny, too. my first thought was "wow, someone else has my username".

    my second thought was "wow, someone's hacked my account and posted it"

    last thought: "i better stop drinking etc... i don't even remember posting this"...
     
  12. tyler510, Apr 17, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2013

    tyler510 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Where I Live?? Everywhere, Of Course!
    #12
    I did this for DoNotDisturb and now the toggle is gone :(
    Edit: I didn't realize you have to re-enable it! Thanks a ton! :D
     

Share This Page