Rename Harddrive Volume via Terminal

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Filmfaker, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. Filmfaker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    #1
    Greetings and a Happy New Year!

    I am a new Mac user, so please forgive me for any nomenclature mishaps. Still working on understanding the Mac OS.

    I am using a Macbook Pro 15", late 2011, latest version of Lion

    I recently upgraded to a SSD for my boot drive. The installation was successful and I was able to boot and work from the SSD and the standard HDD just fine. The applications are and boot data is on the SSD and my User data is on the old HDD. I linked it up this way via preferences, as was the procedure I found online.

    BUT I changed the name of the HDD after I linked up the pathway. I neglected (read idiotically forgot) to modify the pathway via preferences. Now upon boot, the OS can't find the USER data.

    My thought is to somehow change the HDD volume back to the old volume name and everything should be golden.

    I can boot up into the Recovery HD via the "option" access of the list of boot drives. I can't pull up the old HDD boot data because I erased everything but the user information. I searched online to to find commands for renaming volumes via terminal, but to no avail.

    Does anybody know some command lines to access and rename disc volumes via terminal?

    Or is there another way to rename the HDD volume back to the standard "Macintosh HD"?

    Thanks for your help. Much appreciated! Happy New Year!
     
  2. BreakGuy macrumors 6502a

    BreakGuy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    NZ, South Pacific
    #2
    Open up Finder. Under Devices locate your drive. Right click and select Rename.
     
  3. orvn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #3
    In the unix terminal:

    diskutil rename / Name

    Where "Name" is the name of your drive.
    This command renames the partition you're currently located in (type pwd to find the path you're in).
     
  4. Filmfaker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    #4
    Thanks, BreakGuy. Yep, I understand that would be one of the three correct ways to do it, provided I could log into Lion. I can only log into the MacOs X utilities windows by holding down option key as the computer starts up. This is accessed through selecting Recovery HD boot.

    My next attempt will be to access the Hdd's through firewire target disk mode. Will try this and see if it works.
     
  5. Filmfaker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    #5
    Thanks, ovrn. Attempted to do this. Received a "failed to rename volume: Invalid request (-69886)"

    What is a command to see the volumes? Possibly change which partition I currently am in?

    ----------

    Thanks, orvn. Sorry, not partition. I am not using partitions. Need to change a volume name.
     
  6. Filmfaker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    #6
    Follow up:

    Everything is good to go! Here is my fix -

    Simple really.

    Booted my MBP in "T" target mode with a firewire connection to a working MBP. From working MBP, we simply renamed the HDD back to "Macintosh HD", ejected the drives, restarted my MBP and it worked just fine!

    Booted up promptly, recognized the user pathway, and everything was exactly as it should be.

    Thanks for your help!
     

Share This Page