Rename option not available at all.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by smithy001, Aug 7, 2017.

  1. smithy001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Location:
    brisbane
    #1
    I have OS X 10.9.5. The rename option is not available to me. I can rename one by one by clicking and enter method but if I want to rename multiple files it is impossible. I have tried safe mode and using the back up on my time machine thingy to take it back to when i got it but it seems Ive never had the option. Is there something Im doing wrong? maybe a setting is wrong? I don't have enough data on my internet plan to upgrade just yet... help me :-(
     

    Attached Files:

  2. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #2
    The batch rename feature wasn't introduced until Yosemite 10.10.x.

    Perhaps you know another Mac user that can make a USB installer for you...but upgrade recommendations often depend on your current hardware.

    I'm pretty sure there are some free renaming apps in the App Store.
     
  3. smithy001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Location:
    brisbane
    #3
    --- Post Merged, Aug 8, 2017 ---
    Thank you so much I was thinking I had done something to mess it up. Frustrating that I have to look at third party apps now though...
     
  4. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #4
    Which Mac model do you have, and, how much RAM is installed?
     
  5. smithy001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Location:
    brisbane
    #5
    Macbook pro, 8GB 1600... I'm fairly new to Apple so I'm not sure where to find the Ram :-( learning curve
     
  6. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #6
    Apple Menu>About This Mac

    Model year and all that.
     
  7. smithy001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Location:
    brisbane
    #7
    Macbook pro 11 retina, mid 2014
     
  8. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #8
    8GB RAM and that 2014 model are good to go for an upgrade of macOS to Sierra if you can get past the data hurdle.
     
  9. smithy001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Location:
    brisbane
    #9
    That's what I was hoping... I'd rather do that than get a third party app... Thank you so much for your help :)
     
  10. smithy001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Location:
    brisbane
    #10
    Just need to find somewhere with free WiFi and no data limit lol... Hmmm wonder what the data limit is at Maccas?
     

Share This Page