Rename SSD

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Texas_Toast, Nov 11, 2016.

  1. Texas_Toast macrumors 6502a

    Texas_Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    This is a new experience for me with a SSD that is basically permanent to my rMBP.

    Is there a way to rename the SSD on my new rMBP?

    I have a naming convention for my HDDs and would ideally like to keep using that, although it makes less sense since removing my SSD isn't as practical. Still...
     
  2. thats all folks macrumors 6502a

    thats all folks

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Location:
    Austin (supposedly in Texas)
    #2
    just rename it as you would any drive. is it not letting you?
     
  3. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #3
    You can only change volume names, not the name of the drive itself. That is typically hard-coded into the firmware.
     
  4. Texas_Toast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Texas_Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    As I recall in the past, if I wanted to rename a new HDD in Disk Manager, then I had to repartition and format the drive or something like that. In other words, it was a major deal!

    No, I haven't tried, and I wanted to ask here first before I trash my new rMBP!!
     
  5. JohnDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    #5
    Just right click on the volume name in Finder, typically "Macintosh HD", and select "Rename".
     
  6. Texas_Toast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Texas_Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    That won't break my new rMBP?

    It won't screw up the OS or the Apps? :(
     
  7. JohnDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
  8. Texas_Toast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Texas_Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    Okay, thanks.

    Why do you rename your HDD/SSD, and what do you rename it to?
     
  9. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #9
    I personally renamed mine to just ‘Macintosh’, because I don’t like spaces in volume names.
     
  10. JohnDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    #10
    We have several Macs in our family and we use file sharing to swap files. It makes it less confusing if each Mac's HD has a different name. So we have each replaced "Macintosh" in the volume name with our name or initials. It also help us to avoid confusing backups.
     
  11. Texas_Toast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Texas_Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    I came up with a naming convention this summer to try and keep track of my original HDD and clones and backups, plus to allow for owning a second Mac.

    As storage becomes harder to remove, this may become less relevant to me.

    I forgot... I can still swap out the SSD in my 2015 rMBP, right?

    What about on a 2016 rMBP?
     
  12. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #12
    I rename the hard drive in my machines just as I rename new folders..... on the desktop, click on the name, then when it is highlighted, click again so that it is blinking, then type in the desired new name. Since I have several machines I give the HD the name of whatever model it is: i.e., rMB 2016, rMBP 15 2015, etc. I also find an appropriate photo of the machine and then replace the boring photo of the Macintosh disk with one of the computer itself. I also use photos on all of my folders, too, on the desktop, making for a very unique, attractive and interesting looking desktop!
     
  13. Texas_Toast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Texas_Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    Care to share some screenshots of what you mean?
     
  14. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #14
    You know how you start a new folder on the desktop...and then can type in the desired name for that folder? This is the exact same process!

    The one with swapping out the plain blue folder and putting a photo in its place for that folder is a little more complex. Basically one selects the photo that he wants to use for that folder -- say it's a folder of photos of flowers and the folder is named "Flowers of Spring 2016," so a photo of a flower from that collection would be nice, wouldn't it? Click on the photo and open it in preview, then select all and copy. Keeping the photo open, then go to the folder and hit "Get Info." At the top of the Get Info screen you'll see a small image of the blue folder. Click on that once and you'll see it change. Then click "paste" (as you've still got that flower image copied in the clipboard). The new flower image should appear as the folder ! (Sometimes it takes a reboot to get it to work, other times it works on the first try. On the desktop, then, you've got a pretty new flower photo and you know it's your folder because the folder name and addition info are listed under it just as they were with the blue folder icon.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 11, 2016 ---
    Here we go!!
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Texas_Toast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Texas_Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    With all of my directories, probably not something I could use, but still pretty neat!
     
  16. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #16
    "Is there a way to rename the SSD on my new rMBP?"

    1. Click ONE time on drive icon.
    2. If this doesn't turn the name into editable text, hit the return/enter key.
    3. Type whatever name you wish.
    4. Hit return/enter.

    What could be easier?
     
  17. Texas_Toast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Texas_Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    Sounds too easy.

    I figured doing that would screw up your OS and apps and plist files.
     
  18. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #18
    I name two items (actually three) on a new Mac.
    I have used the hard drive name "TheAbyss" since I started using Macs in 1993 (Mac IIsi, if you want to know :D )
    So, my main home Mac gets that hard drive name.
    Then the computer name (which is the name used for file sharing, and access from other devices), and I also make the local hostname a unique name (so it does not resemble either the computer network name, or the hard drive boot volume name) None of which is necessary in any way, but simply something that I do.
    I do also try not to ever use spaces, or special symbols in any of those names. Just an old habit that probably isn't technically necessary anymore, but it's what I do :D

    You can change the hard drive name anytime you like. It usually doesn't affect much at all, although you might use an app that needs a path for support files, and changing the hard drive name would affect the pathname. Some apps don't know how to deal with that. Just something to be aware of, and it's usually something that you can fix pretty easily if it happens.
     
  19. Texas_Toast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Texas_Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #19
    Glad to hear that I can do this. I wasn't sure since I haven't owned a new Mac in like 4 years, and since then when I install a new HDD, it doesn't matter because I name the HDD before I install the OS or the clone.

    I like naming things, so this is good.
     

Share This Page