rename windows volume in boot camp startup menu

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by piku9000, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. piku9000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    #1
    Hello!

    This is my first post here... even though, I've read a lot of the things on this forum, but never decided to post a question 'til now... now that i bought a macbook pro that is.

    Actually I have some sort of annoyance with boot camp. It works as it's intended (with windows 7, which is a miracle, because everyone complains about that combination). But whenever I boot up and press "alt" to select the hard drive i want to boot, it always shows Windows. Can i change it for something else? and, how can I do it? Both of my partitions have names of their own... they're not generic... but still, they are not working, what can I do??
     
  2. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #2
    The boot screen is actually provided by the EFI firmware. It tends to call anything non OS X simply Windows. Its Apple short speak for "old crapy legacy file system, potentially bootable". EFI does not care how the partition is called in OS X or Windows.

    If you want a more fancy boot manager GUI you can try rEFIt. Its free and has some fringe bennies on top of nicer graphics.
     
  3. piku9000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    #3
    i'm not quite sure on installing another firmware on top of efi, and rEFIt is on beta or something... but it's not a 1.0 version either... i guess i'll have to live with that Windows thing annoying me then, thanks!
     
  4. lucifiel macrumors 6502a

    lucifiel

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    In your basement
    #4
    yeh, but rEFIT is actually fairly reliable even despite the beta stage.

    well if you don't want to use it, you don't want to use it
     
  5. piku9000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    #5
    i know, but there are some bugs that make you boot straight to osx... and plus i do development on windows (.net and all that stuff) i can't risk being jammed out of boot camp, thanks anyway :)
     

Share This Page